Coconut Pecan Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Worth the work to make. This is an excellent recipe and our whole family faves about the icing whenever I make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave's wife

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This is good as written, but tastes more candyish to me. If you prefer deeper flavors, use 1 cup evaporated milk and 1 cup sugar in place of the sweetened condensed milk. Cook for about 12 min after it starts to bubble. The difference in flavor is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
this is fabulous! i will admit that i was suspect at first, when just cooking the milk, eggs and butter-it smelled horrible. after adding in the coconut and pecans and vanilla though...mmmmm. won't ever use another recipe for this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
My son & I kicked this out in nothing flat.. It's amazing & so easy to cook.. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This is a fine recipe. I haven't seen many variations of it, but I really missed the sugar; I added almost a cup after it was all cooked which worked out well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Excellent. This makes a German Chocolate Cake made from a boxed mix taste homemade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I almost gave this four stars because it was so obnoxious to make. I had to do it twice because you literally have to stir it CONSTANTLY for 10 minutes or the sugar carmelizes on the bottom and makes the icing gross with hard chunks. It's exhausting. But the end product was so freaking amazing, it gets 5 stars. I could not stop eating it. It was the perfect amount to ice three 9" layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Simply put, this frosting ROCKS! Is it wrong to just want to eat it all by itself?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Easy and tasty. I was doing some cleaning out of the cupboards at my parent's house and was trying to use up some of the many boxes of cake mixes they had. I made a german chocolate cake and used a can of coconut pecan frosting. The cake was okay, but I did not care for the frosting. I ended up scraping off the canned frosting and replaced it with this frosting, which was a definite improvement. I was trying to chop the nuts while the milk/egg/butter was cooking, so I did scorch it a bit, but I just strained the mixture before adding the coconut and pecans and it came out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I thought that this recipe was O.K., but I agree with Laura B. that version that uses evaporated milk and sugar tastes better. The evaporated milk version (which I found on a box of Baker's chocolate) has more flavor dimensions to it. This version is kinda flat, by comparison. But it will do if you don't have evaporated milk on hand. Also, you don't have to temper the yolks if you thoroughly whisk them into the milk before you start cooking the mixture. FYI, the evaporated milk version calls for 1 (12 oz.) can evap. milk, 1.5 cups sugar, 1.5 sticks butter, 4 egg yolks, 1.5 teaspoons vanilla, 7 oz. coconut, and 1.5 cups chopped pecans. Prepare according to the directions noted in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by csamfly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tip for Utokia's Pecan Coconut Crusted Fish

See how to make quick, mess-free pecan and coconut-crusted cod fillets.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States