Coconut Pecan Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
By far THE best German chocolate cake topping I have ever tried. This is a keeper. SIDE NOTE: I stuck the frosting in the freezer for about 10 minutes after cooking, and it spread perfectly!NEWLY ADDED: 01/01/2009 I have never made this recipe with the egg yolks. It works great drizzled over a bundt cake...just let it cool for a few minutes. If it is too runny, add more coconut! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
I loved this frosting! It was simple and delicious. I used it on a boxed cake for fathers day and my dad loved it. Thank you so much for posting this :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Torres

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
Splendid! Exactly what I was hoping for! I added a bit of extra pecans and coconut, and I spread it thickly on just one 9" German chocolate cake--it's perfect. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annanthony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
I made this tonite. OMG it was to DYE FOR!!!! I wanted to eat this stuff straight out of the pot!! Forget about the cake! I did frost white cupcakes with it. Not chocolate like recommended. It was still great. My whole family fully enjoyed themselves. Hubby at 5 of em!!! Couldnt get enough ! This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Dover Air Force Base, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
This was amazingly easy (quicker than running to the store for a can which was my other option!) and it is DELICIOUS!! I cooked it over medium heat a *little* longer than seeing bubbles and I noticed the consistency changing (probably cooking the egg yolks too much)so I took it off heat and added last ingredients. It was the perfect consistency. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRA DEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
I REALLY wanted this to be awesome, but something just didn't work out for me and I don't know why. I followed the directions exactly, and the frosting came out a slightly greasy mess that didn't stick to anything and didn't hold any of the pecans or coconut. It didn't necessarily taste horrible, but it wasn't great. I'm sure it would have been better if it turned out right, but I have no idea what I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
Delicious. Being forewarned of easily burning it, I started out with a "make shift" double boiler...cooked it in that for 10 min. (it did not bubble) then moved to the stove top to bubble for an additional 5 min. stirring constantly. NO separation at all. Easy, and now I know that the yellow color simply means "homemade"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
Wow! Delicious and easy! It beats the socks off the canned stuff and it really fast to make. Just don't forget the part of the recipe where it says to "stir constantly". I almost forgot and had tiny brown flakes from the bottom of the pan. It didn't affect the flavor, though. I could have eaten it by the spoonful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
Although this frosting was a little thick (because I cooled it in the fridge, I assume), the taste was incredible. I ate about a quarter of the recipe with a spoon before I got around to frosting the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
This is very very good.. a lot lighter than storebought but who cares!! My dad is an avid german chocolate cake fan and he says this is the best he's ever had. So EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oliver Springs, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tip for Utokia's Pecan Coconut Crusted Fish

See how to make quick, mess-free pecan and coconut-crusted cod fillets.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States