Coconut Pecan Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I'll never again use a canned frosting again! This was amazingly simple and delicious. I didn't notice the condensed milk taste that others have, but then again, I did boil it just a bit longer than the recipe states to get a deeper color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Really good - I followed someone else's advice and tempered by egg yolks, so I didn't have any problems with lumpiness. But after cooking it for ten minutes and adding the pecans and coconut it was way too thick, almost like taffy. Tasted good but wouldn't spread. So I just put it back on low heat and added heavy cream until it was smooth enough to spread, turned out great. I like a recipe that you can go back and fix after messing it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
YUM! But really, how can you go wrong with coconut and pecans! As another reviewer stated, don't be put off by the odd macaroni and cheese-like odor while you're cooking this up. You'll smell the difference immediately when you add the coconut and pecans. Important to note - when cooking with eggs, unless you want scrambled egg bits in your frosting, I would highly recommend heating the butter and condensed milk in the saucepan first, then slowly incorporating a small amount of the hot butter/milk mixture(about 1/2 cup) into your egg yolks in a small bowl, whisking while you add. Once you do that, add your egg mixture into the saucepan. You should be able to avoid cooked egg bits with this method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
awesome recipe, added some coconut to the sponge mixture and halved the recipe(which I found was more than enough) a1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Perfect & so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Summerfield, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
It has a good taste and I'm sure it would taste better with chocolate cake (I didn't use it). I don't really have much to complain about. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNYJENN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Good frosting, but I could taste the condensed milk in the recipe. I'm not sure I liked that. I'll make it again with a modification.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Made for husband's birthday cake and he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
Tonight, I had a craving for something sweet but all I had on hand was 1 box of chocolate cake mix and no frosting. I was looking for a recipe with ingredients I had on-hand. This worked out great and was so simple to prepare while my cake was baking. It's easy to spread when you use a rubber spatula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This is really good, though I never saw any bubbles and got some scorched stuff from the bottom of the pot mixed in. Still really good. Probably my cheap electric stove and cheap pot, nothing to do with the recipe. I started timing the 10 minutes from when the butter melted, maybe I over-cooked it slightly, but once you mix in the pecans, the brown scorch chunks don't show at all. Pretty easy, IMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phaewryn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hardwick, Vermont, USA
Living In: Chester, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tip for Utokia's Pecan Coconut Crusted Fish

See how to make quick, mess-free pecan and coconut-crusted cod fillets.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States