Coconut Pecan Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Simply put, this frosting ROCKS! Is it wrong to just want to eat it all by itself?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Easy and tasty. I was doing some cleaning out of the cupboards at my parent's house and was trying to use up some of the many boxes of cake mixes they had. I made a german chocolate cake and used a can of coconut pecan frosting. The cake was okay, but I did not care for the frosting. I ended up scraping off the canned frosting and replaced it with this frosting, which was a definite improvement. I was trying to chop the nuts while the milk/egg/butter was cooking, so I did scorch it a bit, but I just strained the mixture before adding the coconut and pecans and it came out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I thought that this recipe was O.K., but I agree with Laura B. that version that uses evaporated milk and sugar tastes better. The evaporated milk version (which I found on a box of Baker's chocolate) has more flavor dimensions to it. This version is kinda flat, by comparison. But it will do if you don't have evaporated milk on hand. Also, you don't have to temper the yolks if you thoroughly whisk them into the milk before you start cooking the mixture. FYI, the evaporated milk version calls for 1 (12 oz.) can evap. milk, 1.5 cups sugar, 1.5 sticks butter, 4 egg yolks, 1.5 teaspoons vanilla, 7 oz. coconut, and 1.5 cups chopped pecans. Prepare according to the directions noted in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by csamfly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This is a great recipe. Everyone loves it. I double the recipe for my 3 or 4 layer cakes. The icing is the best part of a German Chocolate Cake. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calhoun, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I just got done making this and it was YUMMY! I did follow the advice of the other reader and tempered the yolks and it was great! I doubled the recipe since I like lots of frosting and I am so glad! My husband and I started eating it by the spoonfuls. Who needs the cake? (o: Thank you for sharing! Such an easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: University Place, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Perfect - nothing else to say!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMPNorth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I like it with the sweetened condensed milk! It's less sweet, and more creamy caramel tasting than the kind made with evaporated milk. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLYSMAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
OMG this was fabulous!! I hope there is some left to actually ice the cake since I've been eating this by the spoonful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kgiamella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bound Brook, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Love, love, love this recipe..I am just experimenting with making my own frostings and this was easy and very delicious! I toasted the coconut before adding just to enhance that coconut flavor. Definately gonna make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sophia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
AWESOME!!!!! this frostin recipe is a keeper, i made it and got alot of compliments thanks for sharin the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunnyflower1177
Home Town: Benton Harbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States