Coconut Pancake Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I used a little more than a T of cornstarch and halved the corn syrup and sugar then added a tea. of coconut extract like some people suggested. The whole family loved it. Very coconuty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This is very good - as long as you understand that the coconut flavor is quite subtle. Personally, I enjoyed it - but I *do* wish I had some coconut extract (as others have mentioned) to give it that last little ummph of flavor. It's quick and easy ... I think I'm going to make a poke cake try drizzling this on the cake. I only had sweetened coconut, so I simply scaled back on the sugar. Thanks so much for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Just like the syrup we had at Slappy Cakes in Maui! Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shak
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I waited anxiously for the weekend to make pancakes, along with the syrup for my family. The recipe is scrumpcious. I didn't have any corn syrup on hand so I made some my self, 2 cups of sugar, 3/4 cups water, 1/4 tea cream of tartar and pinch of salt. bring to a boil, (soft ball stage)let cool. Adjustments I made to the recipe: I used 1 tab of the corn starch as other reviewer suggested but to be honest next time I'll use the 2 tab, because I like my syrup a little thicker and not so runny. I will also decrease the sugar,to about 1/4 cup. The sweetened coconut gives it that extra sweetness. I also added 1 tea of coconut extract. IT DEFENITLY MADE A DIFFRENCE. But all in all I loved the recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Thanks for sharing. It's hard to find coconut syrup on the mainland and this will fit the bill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
OMG that is DELICIOUS!!! We had it with pancakes that had fresh pineapple and added a side of fried Canadian Bacon (or Ham). Soooooo Good! Thanks for the new breakfast item.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I just made it & love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I eliminated the corn syrup & sugar and used coconut sugar instead and a little more corn starch to make thicker.Just a little more healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Or you can just add coconut milk/cream to your favorite syrup! Works just fine just comes out a little darker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
We had some bottled coconut syrup in Hawaii at a bed and breakfast that we thought our children would love. Unfortunately we could never find a bottle of it to buy and bring home. So when I got home I tried this recipe and it tasted fresher and even better than what we had in Hawaii! I did makes some changes, though. I left out the flaked coconut because my husband doesn't like it, and I only added about a cup of corn syrup because I didn't want it to be too sweet. As other reviewers recommended, I added some coconut extract. Next time I will add about half the suggested amount of cornstarch. Since I didn't add as much corn syrup my coconut syrup was a little thick...but still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Whipped Coconut Cream (Vegan Whipped Cream)

Dairy-free whipped cream made with coconut milk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States