Coconut Oatmeal Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Excellent. These bake very flat so make sure that you space them well. They are baked when slightly brown at edges. I got 4 dozen 2 inch cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Perfect as it! Don't need to change anything! Although I prefer dark chocolate with my coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
The cookies turned out great! I added 1/8 tsp of nutmeg and 1/4 tablespoon of cinnamon which perfected the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
LOVE THEM! They were soo good! Instead of regular flour, I used gluten free flour, I also omitted the baking soda. I used regular mini chocolate chips instead of white chocolate. Only cook for 10 minutes. Really really good! Also, I used 2 1/3 cup of coconut flakes, so it wouldn't be as dry. It says it's supposed to make 2 dozen, but I ended up with 4 and 1/2 dozen. So yeah! Definitely don't double if you need more! There's already enough in the batch itself. I recommend this recipe! I even pinned it to my Pinterest board! :) 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
yum! These were really easy with very simple ingredients. i only used a cup of butter (because I ran out), 2 eggs instead of 1, whole wheat flour, and all brown sugar, but they were still great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Great cookies. Next time I'm going to add a pinch of salt. Beware: If you're going to use a silpat, you may want to reduce the oven temp. a bit. My first batch got a little too brown on the bottom, but when I reduced the oven temp back to 325, the second batch came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssteinberg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
These are hands down the best cookies I have ever made and I have made many a cookie. The only change I made was I used less oatmeal but I probably didn't have to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I'm only giving this four stars, because I made substantial changes. I wanted it to be a bit more healthy. I omitted the white sugar, as per other reviewers, and I cut the brown sugar down to 1/2 cup. I also replaced 1/3 of the all-purpose flour with whole wheat flour and used dark chocolate chips. They turned out great. The second time I made them, I decided to use just 1/2 cup of Splenda brown sugar mix and replace all of the flour with whole wheat. They also turned out very tasty like this, however since most of the calories come from fat, using Splenda only saved me about 14 calories. For this reason, I probably won't do it again. The third time I made them, I used 1/2 cup of regular brown sugar, all whole wheat flour, and I replaced the butter with mashed banana. This cut down on the calories hugely, but they just weren't as nice. The banana was a bit too strong and made the texture slightly rubbery. I may try this again but only replace half of the butter with banana. Otherwise, I'll stick to 1/2 cup brown sugar, no white sugar and all whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I've been baking these for 6-7 years now and get rave reviews. It's a great recipe if you're looking for something rich and tasty, but not chocolatey. I can't count how many times people have asked me for the recipe. They don't come out too pretty, but they taste fantastic. I always use real butter, ghirardelli white choc chips, and the sweetened coconuts flakes (Baker's brand). About some of the complaints I've read--if your cookies are coming out too flat and runny looking, it's because your butter melted too much (it's tempting to melt it in the microwave because there's so much). If you do let everything soften too much, cool the dough for a bit before baking. I use a cookie scoop or tablespoon to measure these out. Also, be generous with the space you give them on the sheet. They're...territorial. About some of the complaints I've read--if your cookies are coming out too flat and runny looking, it's because your butter melted too much (it's tempting to melt it in the microwave because there's so much). If you do let everything soften too much, cool the dough for a bit before baking. I use a cookie scoop or tablespoon to measure these out. Also, be generous with the space you give them on the sheet. They're...territorial.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lostmyseatagain
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
These were pretty good. I used two sticks I Can't Believe It's Not Butter, 1 1/2 cups oats, sweetened flaked coconut, and I left out the white sugar. I personally didn't care for the texture of the brown sugar in these, but my dad and boyfriend loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States