Coconut Oatmeal Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
AMAZING cookies! However, I made a few adjustments to the recipe: I didnt have shortening and put in 1 cup of butter instead and I added 1tsp of cinnamon for some added flavor. Also I cut the white sugar to 1/2 cup due to coconuts natural sweetness. They now have the perfect amount of sweetness and they are incredibly moist!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
FABULOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This cookie is so DELICIOUS!!! I did make a few changes to the original recipe based on the other reviews. I sustituted 1/2 cup of applesauce for the shortening and reduced the white and brown sugars to 2/3 cup each. Also increased the amts for baking soda and baking powder to 1 1/2 tsp each. I also added 1/2 tsp cinnamon and approx 1/4 tsp salt and 1 tsp cream of tarter. Also my "cups" for the oats and coconut were heaping. The dough was quite wet so I chilled it for about an hour. Once chilled I rolled it into balls (heaping TBSP size) and baked for 9-10 minutes until just turning golden. Let cool for a few minutes on pan and then removed. These cookies turned out chewy and perfect! They turned out the perfect shape and I had no problems with then being too flat! These are a new family favorite and will definately make again!! Next time I might add raisins or butterscotch chips, which would be very yummy as well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILLCOTT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
These are the most amazing cookies better than my mother in law's. I also added more oatmeal 3/4 cups more and used shortening and butter. Allow them to cool on a tea towel and they'll come out chewy and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Freezing cold outside. Wife out of town. Just me and the dog. I decided to try this recipe but only used the directions as a guide. First of all I used whole wheat flour and all butter. I used turbinado sugar instead of white. Cut sugars to two thirds cup each then added 2 tbls of blackstrap molasses. I added another cup of oatmeal. Also added cream of tarter, nutmeg & cinnamon. Then I added a cup of raisins, a cup of chocolate chips and finally put a whole almond on top before baking. I like harder cookies so I baked them 13 min. First batch turned out very good. Second batch is smaller for more crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
My husband said these were pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
These were fantastic! Thankyou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Great recipe just as written. After making it a few times, I have made a few alterations to suit our taste. I substitute applesauce for the shortening and use 1/2tsp of almond extract & 1/2tsp vanilla. These have become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Had a sweet craving the other night and this fit the bill wonderfully. I reduced the sugar and subbed applesauce for the shortening. The cookies were cakey and moist and delicious. What a great way to mix a love of oatmeal and coconut! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
deffinitly a great choice. never heard of it before but I am glad I tried it. i thought they were not going to turn out cause the dough was hard with all the oats but they were a little crunchy and chewey. if they get hard just put a piece of bread in the jar with them and they will be soft again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burien, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Hopatcong, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States