Coconut Oatmeal Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
These are delicious! I just pulled a batch out of the oven and they taste fabulous when they're warm. My only change is that I baked them on parchment rather than greasing the sheet and they came out perfect. I agree with the reviewers who said to take them out before they look all the way cooked. Mine were barely turning brown around the edges and still looked raw in the middle, but after they cooled for a few mintues, they were just wonderful. Thanks for this recipe, I'll definitely be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieCritter

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
These are amazing. Everyone loved these cookies and could not stop eating them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I have this recipe in an old receipe book but it calls for just butter. I made these excactly as the recipe calls for except used heaping spoonfulls of the baking soda and powder and they were better than my old receipe. They look like the picture soft and puffy. Just delicious, thank you for the recipe Darlene.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katheleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
very good cookies.. my family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kari
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I think the serving size of 2 dozen is way off. My batch yielded 44 medium to large cookies and they were raw in the middle at 10 minutes. If I would have made 24, they would have been the size of a saucer and taken considerably longer to cook. I left mine on the cookie sheet after cooking about 11-12 minutes. They are very soft coming straight from the oven but continue to cook and harden. The next day they were a good consistency. They taste really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Ok, do the heaping tsp. of soda and powder..... with the exact recipe and it turns out great. BUT, before you use the last of the batter... try one batch by rolling the balls of dough in a mixture of cinnamon and sugar... OMG...... it is wayyyyyyy better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Very good. The coconut and oatmeal blend together well. I used butter rather than shortening. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I didn't have shortening so I only used butter but they turned out great. I am very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Loved these cookies! I halved the recipe and still made 24. Used all butter. Baked for 11 minutes and they were still a little too soft for me (even after sitting) so I might bake another 30 seconds or so. Definitely not as puffy as in the photo. But flavor is right on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I have made these cookies twice, and they are simply delicious! I, however, amended the recipe every so slightly: I used 1/4 cup of organic shortening and 1/4 cup of unsalted butter, 1/4 cup of white sugar and a TB of brown sugar. I also used old fashioned oats, and added a dash of nutmeg, cinnamon and 1/4 ts of cream of tartar. My cookies were chewy in the middle, and crispy around the edges, and I indulged way more than I should have, so I will have to limit these cookies to when I have company over :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States