Coconut Oatmeal Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Excellent recipe! I do add coconut extract for a more coconut flavor, but even without it, these are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kate Chakowski
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I made these cookies to bring to a friends BBQ and were they ever a hit!!!! Everyone loved them! They are easy to make as well. Like the other reviewers, I halved the sugar (I put 1/2 a cup of brown sugar and 1/3 cup of white) and I also used coconut oil instead of shortening. This is a great substitute that keeps the cookies healthier! I also threw some white chocolate chips in for an extra kick. Definitely worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Chakowski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Very good. I doubled the coconut and used coconut oil instead of vegetable shortening. My picky 5 year old is eating them too. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
fantastic. did tweek some.added a lil cinnamon and walnuts. used 1 1/2 cups brown sugar and 1/2 cup of white sugar and used butter instead of shortening. also to keep your cookies from spreading thin, don't grease the cookie sheets. there is enough butter/shortening in the recipe to keep them from sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jitterbugjim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lindenhurst, New York, USA
Living In: Howland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachael
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
We loved these cookies but we also added some rice crispies and baked them for half the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Tried this recipe for the first time tonite, we love them! Here are the changes I made: I left out the shortening, I used 1/2 cup of white sugar, 3/4 cup packed brown sugar, in replace of the eggs I used 3/4 cup of my homemade chunky applesauce ( which also added a nice hint of cinnamon) for the coconut I added a half cup of the sweetened flaked, and half a cup of unsweetened coconut to give it a tender crunch in the cookie. Even with the sugar changes I still found them a little sweet, this is definitely a keeper recipe. Half the batch I added some dried cranberries. Also I must add, this is the first oatmeal cookie I've made that didn't turn out flat! Thank you for a wonderful recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tatycastillo
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I just made this cookies,they came out really nice. Although they took more than 10 min in the oven,I used 1/2 white flour and 1/2 whole wheat,I'm not sure if that would have had something to do with taking longer to bake but they're delicious,thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This cookies are awesome!I shared some with family members and they couldn't stop raving about them! My only changes were 1/2 butter 1/2 coconut oil, reduced the sugar a bit and added a little extra oatmeal and coconut. Simply perfect! Thanks for sharing Darlene.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
These cookies are delicious! I balled the cookies before I made them to ensure perfectly round circles, and since I made small cookies they flattened just a bit to a perfect looking morsel! I also experimented by adding raisins and chocolate chips to some of the cookies. These cookies have a dough that is very well balanced and you can add little things and it won't change the consistency much! I would consider adding some cocoa powder next time or maybe cinnamon chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Long Grove, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
It was much too sweet. I would cut the sugars in half if I made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States