Coconut Oatmeal Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Excellent recipe! I watched the cookies closely to be sure not to overbake, like others mentioned they didn't look exactly done but pulled them out to set up. I made some without chips, then with butterscotch chips & chocolate chips as well. I have darker pans so I decreased the temp on the oven about 10 degrees, turned out great! Thanks for this recipe, it is now a family favorite in our home! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Dry and much too sweet even with cutting back on the quantity of sugar. Rather than being too flat, I thought my cookies were too dense - the bottoms were browned nicely but the tops looked undercooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I am not a great fan of coconut, but wow! These are great. I can understand why these were the first to go at Grandma's. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HannahBananna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
we had company over and so i made cookies! these were great! my friend doesn't like chocolate or peanut butter so making anything sweet for her is hard but she enjoyed these! i made two batches and added pecans to one batch which are great in this recipe by the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieCha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Excellent recipe! I do add coconut extract for a more coconut flavor, but even without it, these are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kate Chakowski
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I made these cookies to bring to a friends BBQ and were they ever a hit!!!! Everyone loved them! They are easy to make as well. Like the other reviewers, I halved the sugar (I put 1/2 a cup of brown sugar and 1/3 cup of white) and I also used coconut oil instead of shortening. This is a great substitute that keeps the cookies healthier! I also threw some white chocolate chips in for an extra kick. Definitely worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Chakowski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Very good. I doubled the coconut and used coconut oil instead of vegetable shortening. My picky 5 year old is eating them too. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
fantastic. did tweek some.added a lil cinnamon and walnuts. used 1 1/2 cups brown sugar and 1/2 cup of white sugar and used butter instead of shortening. also to keep your cookies from spreading thin, don't grease the cookie sheets. there is enough butter/shortening in the recipe to keep them from sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jitterbugjim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lindenhurst, New York, USA
Living In: Howland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachael
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
We loved these cookies but we also added some rice crispies and baked them for half the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Tried this recipe for the first time tonite, we love them! Here are the changes I made: I left out the shortening, I used 1/2 cup of white sugar, 3/4 cup packed brown sugar, in replace of the eggs I used 3/4 cup of my homemade chunky applesauce ( which also added a nice hint of cinnamon) for the coconut I added a half cup of the sweetened flaked, and half a cup of unsweetened coconut to give it a tender crunch in the cookie. Even with the sugar changes I still found them a little sweet, this is definitely a keeper recipe. Half the batch I added some dried cranberries. Also I must add, this is the first oatmeal cookie I've made that didn't turn out flat! Thank you for a wonderful recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States