Coconut Milk Shrimp Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Very good soup although I altered the cooking method to cut out the two saute stages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I agree totally with some of the others. Where was the liquid to call it a "soup"? First of all, Ashlou took the words right out of my mouth. This recipe was WAY too complicated! Too many dishes! Why are we cooking everything in a separate pan, and why burn the spices?? Just cook everything (EXCEPT the pasta) in the same pan, add the shrimp last! There wasn't enough liquid to cook the pasta in the pan, so I did cook the pasta separately, then spooned the "sauce" with shrimp over the pasta. I didn't taste the coconut at all. The cumin, turmeric and coriander flavors were nice together, but I felt that it needed more salt. I don't usually cook with salt, but I did this time and something was definitely lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This recipe is overcomplicated. Why sauté (basically) the same ingredients twice in two different pans? Why blanche/peel the tomatoes? Just sauté the stuff, add the spices, then add the tomatoes etc. Also, why cook the carrots in a separate pot? the only reason you'd need to do this is if you don't have a lot of time... otherwise it's better to let it all cook together, gives it more depth. I agree with everyone`s criticism that the pasta:liquid ratio is way too high... next time I`ll be adding half the amount, `cuz even with a can of broth and some extra water, it was still more like a runny pasta meal. Use fresh or frozen peas; canned vegetables are less nutritional/tasty. It`s too bad all the flavor got cooked out of the shrimp... add them at the very end, just after the pasta is cooked, and shut off the burner. Let it sit and cook in the hot liquid for a couple minutes until they turn pink, then serve. Furthermore, I`d also suggest upping the amount of garlic by at least 2x. Since I don`t have turmeric lying around (it`s mostly for color anyway, like paprika), I used straight up curry powder (about 2 tbsp) with the cumin/coriander. And instead of Jalapeno (a Mexican ingredient), I used sriracha sauce ($2.50 in the ethnic foods section... it`s like a spicy Thai version of ketchup). I also added a couple teaspoons of sugar, which was desperately missing. If you thought this recipe was good, check out the 'Coconut Curry Tofu' recipe from user KATHYCOLLINS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This soup was outstanding, although I did make a few modifications. I used diced/cooked butternut squash, eliminated the mushrooms and instead vermicelli I used corn and barley. To make a nice broth I used 4 cups of vegetable broth and I also used about 6 diced green onions and a big bunch of chopped cilantro and two chile peppers for a little extra heat. I only added the shrimp after the soup had simmered because it was already cooked and I didn't want it to get rubbery. It was just the Thai soup recipe I'd been looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NSPHERBLADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harborcreek, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Really good soup. I didn't add the noodles, and put corn instead, and it was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I was really disappointed with this recipe. It sounded great, but fell short of its promise. It is really a shrimp vegetable/pasta soup. I was hoping for a soup with true coconut milk and shrimp flavor, both of which are completely overwhelmed by other ingredients -- particularly the tomatoes . I couldn't taste the coconut milk at all. However, it has inspired me to try to develop a soup that truly tastes like coconut milk shrimp. soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Delicious! This tastes like something from a Thai restaurant. It is very rich, and was still rich with an added cup of water. I would highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Great flavor! I stuck to the recipe except for leaving out one of the carrots and adding 1 chopped celery stalk when cooking the mushrooms. I agree with the previous reviewer that there wasn't enough liquid to call this a soup; the pasta just soaks it all up. I added 4 cups of veggie stock to make more of a broth. This soup is attractive and a nice way to switch up my usual rotation of meals. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAIA22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Really, very good, spicy, savory, 'bout as good as I've had in the Thai restaurants. The coriander, tumeric and cumin really "make" it! Only thing is, I felt like it needed more liquid to be a true soup, so I added about 2 cups of broth/water mixture before the simmer stage. Did I miss where it said put in extra liquid? My substitutions: Canned tomatoes (happened to be the kind with green chiles) and a pickled jalepeno for the fresh... regular onion for the green onion (only 'cos I didn't have any!) Cappellini thin spagetti for the one called for. Thanks, Zoe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States