Coconut Milk Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I'm sorry to pooh-pooh Chef John's recipe, but I tried to make this three times and it never came out. After it was chilled, the rice seemed hard and the pudding did not "set." I tried cooking it longer, until we felt the rice was "done," and it turned into a starchy thick goo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAllen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Great dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Very nice recipe for Sunday dinner with the family. Mild flavor but can add a little more taste with just a touch more vanilla extract or by using more coconut milk and less regular milk. Have recommended it to family and friends alike and all are very pleased with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aktifistri
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I tried this recipe for today's breakfast. Hubby and I love it lots!! Only we agreed to make this as special treats once a while because its richness - don't want to get heart-attack :p For daily we'll use basic recipe of rice pudding; milk, rice, salt, sugar, cinnamon and vanilla. I made some modification; using pineapple instead of mango since this season mango is still so expensive here! Other than that, I use the rice called 'nasi uduk' from last night's dinner instead of cooking from zero again. The rice I used was cooked with coconut oil already plus some herbs (cloves, bay leaves, and salt) - it's Indonesian style, so I didn't use extra coconut milk anymore.. It turned out well and soooo yummy! Still have a bowl in the fridge for tomorrow's snack or movie time.. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aktifistri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Ok..great recipe but too many pots and pans needed for such a simple dish. Great idea but I will use less pots and bowls... ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
I loved this rice pudding!! I remember eating rice pudding a lot as a child and enjoyed it. I am amaze of how great the coconut milk enhances the flavor of this rice pudding. The only other two ingredients I added was a dash of nutmeg and cinnamon to get it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I would like to add to my other remarks, if allowed. Some reviewers remarked on the length of time etc. I don't understand. It is as though one is making a Bechamel. Exactly the same process. But one is not dealing with a roux. The result is SO delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This was WAAAAAY too sweet for my tastes. Also, my rice didn't cook all the way through, so I had crunchy bits in my finished product. I DID like the the coconut milk and vanilla in this recipe, though, so I tried making it again starting with 1 1/2 cups of cooked rice (rather than 3/4 raw) and half the called for sugar and it was AMAZING. Perfect sweetness and consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Awesome! Maybe cook a little longer....a little runny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Best rice pudding I've ever had. I served it with a generous spoonful of balsamic strawberries and my husband gobbled it up. I plan to make it again and again and even though it is stovetop recipe, I found it easy to putter around the kitchen while it was cooking. Also, I served it in those Asian style square dishes and it was as beautiful as it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan Little-Brock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States