Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
My favorite corned beef recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RubMy Rib Man
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Made it twice now... Both times in slow cooker on low for 12+ hours added cabbage in last 2-3 hours. (5-7 lbs meat, be careful with larger size meats, barely fit in crockpot and had to adjust potatoes quantity to fit!) Second time around 10x the curry paste and increased the ratio of cocoanut milk to water. Fantastic as written, but even further enjoyed the additional flavor/heat second time around, reminded of great curry dishes in Singapore. Plated it for St Patrick's party guests with jasmine rice and touch of fresh cilantro on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Thanks to the wonderful participants in the reviews, I started to cook in a crockpot with double the ingredients as suggested. Even after doubling the red curry paste, I still could not get the essence of the curry to come through. I tripled the suggested amount to 6 tsps, added another can of coconut milk, and another tablespoon of fish sauce, trying to create a creamier balance. Threw in carrots, celery and onion, but held the potatoes until the end, cutting into bite size pieces and boiled them 20 minutes in the broth after corned beef was done. Yummy. At the same time I cooked a Guinness Corn Beef in another crock pot. 10 hours later, there was not much difference in flavor of the beefs. The texture was very moist on the Coconut Curry one. Amazingly moist compared to the beer broth beef with less pronounce grain, and hints of the curry linger in the taste buds. Both fell apart and were consumed without a scrap left. I cook twice a day for 15 office employees. Will not be afraid of that curry next time! and will try to make a gravy with that broth next time, using a heavy cream and yogurt base. Thanks Chef John! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
My family does not like corned beef and cabbage but they loved this recipe! Changes - cooked in crockpot on high 6 hours (low for 10 would probably be even better). 2 cans water, double curry paste, fish sauce and tomato paste. Used unpeeled red potatoes and skipped the cabbage and celery (just because I was out so I added 2 extra carrots). Even better on day 2 when served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This is fantastic. I used cumin and diced tomatoe and no fish sauce because this is what I had in the cupboard. I'm serving it for mothers day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Just did this today it was great. JS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
My husband and I really enjoyed this, but honestly the coconut and curry paste flavors didn't come through as much as I was hoping, my husband didn't realize this was supposed to have a Thai influence at all until I told him what I'd used. I will most likely make this again but up the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
So different and SO GOOD! Thanks for a wonderful update to a classic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
My wife is from Thailand so we know the flavors. We were mixed as to whether to even try this because I didn't want to waste a corned beef if the flavors were too "conflicted". On the other hand, the "same old" corn beef and cabbage IS kind of boring. WOW was this good. The ammounts of coconut milk and curry paste were just enough to "hint" at the changed recipe and there was a richness in the broth that we both loved. Only change I made was to use a crock pot instead of a dutch oven. Now my wife and I are talking about whether to "push" the coconut milk and curry to make them a little more prominent. We LOVED this as written and I recommend this as a change. It is NOT radical nor conflicted at the table. thanks rc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
its so good, i do used cumin instead or coriander because i don't have that available but it did turned out very well. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs_queenie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States