Coconut Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
For the life of me I couldn't get this to work at all. As soon as I added coconut they turned to mush and became liquid globs. When I cooked they stuck to the pan. They stuck to parchment paper and they stuck to a greased cookie sheet too so I had to give up. I tried 3x.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This is a great recipe! I will make it again and again! I took the advice of fellow reviewers and reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup, because I was using sweetened coconut. I also added 3 drops of blue food coloring to make them more cloud-like. I did have to bake them for an additional 10 minutes, but I am working with a new oven. All in all, fluffy, adorable, and VERY low cal. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffness23

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Excellent recipe. I doubled it up, since I had 4 egg whites to use. I also chopped the coconut in a food processor for a few pulses, so the coconut was not so "stringy" and used half almond extract and half coconut extract. Delicious on their own but even more incredible when sandwiched together with whipped cream (I added a couple of teaspoons of cream of coconut instant pudding to the cream instead of sugar when whipping!) Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
What a delightful way to use up extra egg whites. I made these today after I read reviews,I also only used 1/2 cup conf sugar. They were sweet enough. I will make again and I made 15 bite sized meringues from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This is a very yummy meringues, however the sugar can be cut to 1/2 half cup. 3/4 cups is just a little too sweet for a meringue. Also, I only got 12 small cookies with the original recipe. I'll definitely double or triple the next time around. Might even try adding a couple tablespoons of cocoa powder next time...what's not to like about a chocolate coconut combination
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Very good! I only used 1/2 cup sugar, and they were plenty sweet. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I tried these meringues because I'm dieting and wanted a sweet treat with minimal calories and fat. They are DELICIOUS! I also found them very easy to make. I did not have any cream of tartar in the house, so I doubled the recipe and used 1/4 teaspoon white vinegar and 1/4 teaspoon of salt. I only used about 1/8 teaspoon of almond extract, even for a double recipe. They were perfect - there was a tiny, tiny hint of almond, but it was not overpowering for these delicate cookies. The coconut was a wonderful addition of texture and flavor. I will definitely be making these again, and I suspect they will be a go-to diet dessert on many occasions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tynne
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Easy & Good! Bonus is these goodies won't derail your diet at the holidays.... I made a few batches and experimented with different extracts but the coconut ones were by far my favorite! I added 2 drops of green food coloring with the extract. I think next time I might tint the coconut RED and the meringues Green... very festive! One more tip- instead of dropping them by teaspoons I put it in a Qt size ziplock bag and cut the tip and piped them on so I could add a slight swirl- they turned out great and look pretty- see picture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Too too too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat_23

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Easy and delicious. I added a bit more coconut because I love it - maybe another tablespoon. Baked them on a Silpat mat. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCAFELD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Segundo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States