Coconut Meringue Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Tetya
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I liked the top part a lot, but the cake was too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
This cake is absolutely delicious! Very light and still fresh the next day. The only changes I made were to add an extra egg white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
easy to make and DELICIOUS, a real cut and come again cake. already friends are asking for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I followed the recipe to the T and it came out wonderful! I've never made any kind of homemade cake before. The Meringue was good too. I did use one more egg white for the meringue. I shared some with my older(60+) neighbors. They loved it and told how it tasted like cake when they were younger. I love this cake and will make it again! Its a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sixkyej
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This is a nice cake. Moist and flavorful and easy to make. I used coconut extract instead of vanilla. This took about 45-50 minutes to bake, not 30.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixkyej

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
Quite good, with a great flavor. I read what another reviewer wrote and started baking the cake before I put the meringue on (~5 minutes). I didn't need to do that. Next time, I'll probably add a couple more egg whites to the meringue, just to have a thicker topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
The cake was great. We had company coming over one evening so I made it in the afternoon. There were only 3 pieces (from 16) left when the evening was over - so 5 people ate 13 pieces of this cake. One of my guest even asked if I would make the cake again and bring it to her daughters baby shower. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
My husband described as "Bisquick with meringue on top". Will probably not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
i can tell this could be a fabulous cake. however, i couldn't get the cake to cook in 35 minutes. i kept having to put it back in the oven , then the merangue got to well done. wondering what i did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
This is really a good cake. I made it according to the recipe and it came out wonderful. I love the Old Fashioned taste and the flavor of cakes from when I was a child. Make this cake for any occassion and you won't be dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

How to Frost a Cake

See simple steps to frost a cake like a professional baker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States