Coconut Meringue Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
A good variation from other cakes. This cake is moist with a slightly brown crunchy top. The coconut brings a nice flavor to the cake. My husband and friends love eating it. This recipe is a keeper! Thanks Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
This is really a good cake. I made it according to the recipe and it came out wonderful. I love the Old Fashioned taste and the flavor of cakes from when I was a child. Make this cake for any occassion and you won't be dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
This cake is absolutely delicious! Very light and still fresh the next day. The only changes I made were to add an extra egg white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
easy to make and DELICIOUS, a real cut and come again cake. already friends are asking for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
The cake was great. We had company coming over one evening so I made it in the afternoon. There were only 3 pieces (from 16) left when the evening was over - so 5 people ate 13 pieces of this cake. One of my guest even asked if I would make the cake again and bring it to her daughters baby shower. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I followed the recipe to the T and it came out wonderful! I've never made any kind of homemade cake before. The Meringue was good too. I did use one more egg white for the meringue. I shared some with my older(60+) neighbors. They loved it and told how it tasted like cake when they were younger. I love this cake and will make it again! Its a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
I love this cake. My Mother used to make a cake like this only it was called Romance Cake. I think that was when you served it to your sweetheart well lets just the cake was named for a reason,FABULOS. I used my printer to print this on several a pieces of printable magnet. It is on my frige and I gave others to friends and family I won't missplace this recipe ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOVERDALE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sixkyej
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This is a nice cake. Moist and flavorful and easy to make. I used coconut extract instead of vanilla. This took about 45-50 minutes to bake, not 30.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixkyej

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tetya
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I liked the top part a lot, but the cake was too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
Quite good, with a great flavor. I read what another reviewer wrote and started baking the cake before I put the meringue on (~5 minutes). I didn't need to do that. Next time, I'll probably add a couple more egg whites to the meringue, just to have a thicker topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

How to Frost a Cake

See simple steps to frost a cake like a professional baker.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States