Coconut Macaroons II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
The taste of this recipe is great! The only problem I had was it stuck to the pan. I did take the advice of another person to refrigerate mixture and this helped to prevent it from spreading to thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
I gave this a "2-star" not for taste (they're delicious!), but for lack of instructions. The recipe as it's written sounds super simple.............but if you follow it exactly, without first reading several prior reviews, you'll have a sticky mess, with macaroons that fall apart and are really difficult to remove "right out of the oven" as the original recipe states. I ended up, after the first batch, actually using my hands to roll into balls, pressing the mixture so it would hold together. Simply "dropping by teaspoonfuls" as instructed, doesn't give enough body to keep the macaroons together. I also had to keep putting the macaroons back in the oven to cook more than 10 minutes. If I use this recipe again, I'll know how to do it next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
Easy recipe, although I found that refrigerating the mixture for a couple of hours, then rolling into balls, and flattening them a little helped them to stay together. Also, I used Reynolds' Release Nonstick foil which worked wonderfully to keep them from sticking to the foil. I also upped the temp to 375 degrees after testing a first batch at 350 for 10 minutes (not crispy enough for me). Ten to twelve minutes seemed to be the right amount of time. I also immediately removed the cookies from the foil-lined sheet onto another sheet of Release Nonstick foil, which made for easy removal when cool. Very rich and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
The flavor was very good but they didn't stick together well. Yummy but hard to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2004
Very easy to make, sweet and tasty. I love how simple they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
This was my first attempt at macaroons. Delicious! Very easy to make. Since I was out of vanilla extract I subbed it with maple syrup and it worked out perfectly! The bakery down the street makes wonderful macaroons at a buck a piece! Thanks Robin for saving me tons of money by sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
Such a simple recipe and great flavor! I divided the batch up and baked one right away, and one batch the next day after being refrigerated, and noticed a huge difference. The refrigeration helped to prevent the macarooons from spreading too much. I baked until browned around the edges as well as toasted on top. Another suggestion-dip in chocolate laced with orange zest. YUMMY!! Will use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
Very tasty but had to scrape them from the greased parchment paper with a spoon, really wished I had read more than the first page of reviews before making to see that there were some problems with them. Followed the recipe exactly and none were able to be picked up and eaten, too gooey, probably won't make them again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
Thank you so much for creating the world's simplest recipe for macaroons. I brought leftovers to work, and everyone went wild! They could not believe that there were only 4 ingredients. This recipe rocks! There is no reason to go out and buy macaroons ever again, when you can make these, fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
These cookies are really good and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States