Coconut Macaroons II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
I've been making macaroons this way for years too, and I'm always having people ask me for the recipe. I do find that it matters which brand of coconut you use, as far as them holding together. Other than that, though, they come out perfectly every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
I really enjoyed the almond extract flavoring. I will try them again but on a lower temp setting for a longer cooking time. The milk mixture spread out of the coconut balls while cooking leaving the middles uncooked. I had to basically burn them to get them to stay together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
sorry to go against the grain but...not a very good macaroon recipe. the only reason i gave it 2 stars is because it was so easy. the taste is not the same as the recipes with egg white. if you want a sweetened condensed milk flavor, go with this recipe. however, if you prefer a very coconut flavor, find a recipe with whipped egg whites instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I changed the quantities up on this recipe but used the same ingredients. Used 3 cups of coconut (I chopped it up very fine), 1/3 cups sweetened condensed milk, 3/4 tsp. of vanilla and 3/4 tsp. of almond extract. I sprayed my cookie sheet very heavily with Pam and cook the macaroons until the tops start to turn light brown. Then after they are cool, I drizzle a chocolate ganache on the top (1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips and 3 TBS. heavy cream. They always turn out perfect and I get tons of compliments! :) Thanks so much for sharing your recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dilley, Texas, USA
Living In: Pearsall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
I don't know what happened, I followed all the directions to a T, and got an awful mess. This was a waste of time and money!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Andover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I thought this was a great recipe! I always love recipes that have few ingredients. I changed a couple things- I left out the almond extract just because I don't like the taste, and I cooked for about 20 minutes at 325. These were fantastic, I can't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Great recipe. There is no need to put them in the refridgerator. I followed the recipe and when it was time to put these on the cookie sheet I rolled them in some extra coconut. It came out great. The dried coconut got toasted and it made them look like snowballs. There was no oozing, nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This is a perfect recipe! I used an air cookie sheet and simply greased it with crisco shortening, made balls then taped them slightly to flatten. 15 minutes cooking time, 2 min. cooling. Excellent results. I did chill for 30 minutes. This IS a no brainer recipe! Thanks for sharing...you rock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKIPA2B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I had my doubts, especially trying to get them off the cookie sheet---but oooohhhhh, sooo good....they didn't last long enoughto get stale
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
I have used this recipe for several years... a BIG hit. I omit the almond extract though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States