Coconut Macaroons II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
This is a great 4 ingredient recipe. However, I have only one major complaint: Do not bake on aluminum foil. I had made these twice before right on a greased cookie sheet at the normal temperature and time and had NO problem. This weekend, I tried baking them on aluminum and what a gooey mess! I had to scrape them off, put them back in a bowl and make them again. I was not a happy camper, but amazingly, they still turned out good. N-joy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Roselle Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
I made some changed advised by people here. I lowered the oven temperature 25 degrees and ended up cooking them about twice as long (keeping a close watch to see when they browned). I also added 1/2 cup of matzoh meal (made these for passover) and put the batter in the fridge for 15 -- 20 minutes. I rolled them into balls and they didn't run at all. Even the ones I didn't roll baked fine. I used greased tinfoil on my cookie sheets and greased the spatula I used to get them up and had no trouble there. I removed them from the cookie sheet *immediately* and that might have made a difference. My sister and husband said that these were the best macaroons they ever had!!! I made one batch vanilla and one batch with 1/2 cup of cocoa and here it is 2 days later and not one is left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2003
These are great. The flavor is so good. One piece of advice I have is to take them off the wax paper as soon as you take them out of the oven. My first batch stuck and I had to scrape them off and make coconut balls! I also use the chocolate from the peanut butter cup recipe to dip the bottoms in. They come out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
Yum Yum!!! Tastes like an Almond Joy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
Flavor is good, BUT WHAT A MESS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
Delicious and easy, two important ingredients in any recipe. One caveat: these were just a bit too sweet for me, although for others it might be just right. You might want to try unsweeted coconut in order to reduce the intense sugar fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
GOOD ONE BUT, I NEEDED TO NOT LINE MY TRAY , USE BUTTER ON MY COOKIE TRAY AND TO COOK THEM ALOT LONGER, THEY SEEM TO COME OFF BETTER WHEN COOKED ABOUT 20 MINUTES UNTIL TOASTED BROWN ON TOP
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wcgirl02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wildwood Crest, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
Oh my gosh!!! These cookies were great and easy to make! I had no problems with them spreading. The thing I had to be careful about was making them small enough so they would not be too soggy. I also gave them a little push in the middle to flatten them a little bit. The almond extract is the perfect touch to this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
Ok I have to start by saying, I am NOT impressed!! I did everything the suggestions said. I packed the coconut, I reduced the temperture, I put wax paper instead of foil, I packed the cookies has hard as I could and STILL they would not stay together while I was taking them off. I will not be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarkestStar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
Very easy to make, with an excellent flavor. For an extra touch, add white chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States