Coconut Macaroons from White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
I came across this recipe using the recipe roulette on this site and what a great find! I love macaroons and this is such an easy twist. Instead of letting the bread dry overnight, I first cut up the bread (into 6 instead of 3 to make them more cookie size), then toasted them in the toaster oven. Worked like a charm. Great EASY recipe... can't wait to use for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSIE6381

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corcoran, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
Drizzle some melted chocolate over the tops. These are okay, more of a novelty because they are made with bread. Worth trying at least once. Maybe you can jazz them up a little with your own twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
I did not like this recipe at all. Very messy to make and the end result tasted like coconut flavored day old bread. No one in my family cared for them either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I made this for a simple party, hoping for a tasty recipe with little mess. These cookies DEFINITELY didn't meet my expectations. Needless to say, I will never make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Ohhhh! I remember making these in home economics when I was in school! It definitely appealed to my young sweet tooth! Every once in a while I'll make a teeny batch with some leftover Eagle Brand. Not anything I'd serve to company, but they are one of those things that can satisfy a craving. (We didn't worry about letting the bread get dry and ate them warm and drippy with the sweetened condensed milk.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I grew up with these as a child. My mother had this recipe in a depression-era cookbooks. It is quite messy to make; I guess that is why my sister and I loved to help out. We have even made this recipe with minced nuts which worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
These are easy and very good. When you use this recipe you probably should not expect something worthy of serving to guests, but if you just need a sweet coconut macaroon-y snack, these are the thing. Thanks for helping me use up my leftover condensed milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I made these when I first started baking (I think it was 2nd or 3rd grade now I'm 26)and my mom called them Cinderellas. I still love these and just made another batch last night. I don't stale the bread, I just use it fresh and the cookies have never been dry. These aren't the pretties cookies ( I have never made them so they turned out beautifully however I am not the "prettiest" baker). They are so simple and would be fun to make with small kids who want to learn how to bake. Some people said they didn't like how they tasted, I always thought they tasted like a chewy, coconut, nougat candy bar. I'm considering trying something new. I'm considering mashing the bread, milk, and coconut all together to form a thick paste, then forming that into half-inch tall, coin shaped cookies. I did that with one last night (unintentionally because my hands were covered in gunk and it ripped the bread apart) and it turned out great, and not runny like the other ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States