Coconut Macaroon Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
I messed these up but everyone was still eating them!! First, I used SWEETENED coconut..but it wasn't that bad with it. Second, I only used about 3 1/4C of coconut; making the middle ubstable. The bar would not hold it's shape from there, either. When the top started cracking, I took it out. It was not done!! I then cooked it full time and then some..It was still great though!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaley_Rae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
These are the BEST brownies I have ever tasted! They're like gooey almond joy bars. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baton Rouge Mom
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
These were AWESOME! I notice everyone else pointing out that we are supposed to use unsweetened coconut, but I used sweetened because it is what I had, and it was devine. I wouldn't change anything. The batter was very thick, so it was hard to spread, and I found that I had to spread it with 2 fingers with a little butter on them- the spatula just was clinging to the batter. I made them in a 9x9 bar pan and thought the thickness of the layers was absolutely perfect. These are just great and are definitely staying in my recipe box. We burned our mouths on them because we couldn't wait till they cooled to taste them, and they were worth it. They are even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baton Rouge Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
these were the best filled brownie that i have ever had. with these in the house it is very hard to leave them alone. had one then while deciding weather or not to have another one they were all gone. kids loved them thats probally why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
This rating is for the filling, it is wonderful! After reading the other reviews I decided to use the filling with my favorite brownie recipe. I also used 1&1/2 brownie recipe to give a better brownie/filling ratio. I made 4 different types of brownies and these are by far the best. I used the Baker's One Bowl Brownies recipe from the Kraft web-site for my base. Thanks for sharing Valerie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
Excellent! My roommates raved about these brownies, and they disappeared quickly at the social function I brought them to. I underbaked them just a little (to keep them gooey) and used just a little less cocoa, and they turned out wonderfully. Very rich - cut them into small bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by POLARBEE
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
These were very rich but delicious! They were sent to work with my husband and his office ate them up in record time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
The rating is for the filling; as others suggested I used a different recipe for the brownies (Fudge Brownies I from this site). The coconut macaroon filling is a nice way to "dress up" regular brownies. I used a 9X9 pan because I like thick brownies and baked for approximately 60 minutes. Very good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britishcolumbiagirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
major winner. every one loves these. I usually frost them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
Excellent! I confess I used boxed browines and only used the filling which was wonderful. When I have more time I will make the browines from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States