Coconut Macaroon Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Yum! These were good. I used sweetened coconut, as I could not find unsweetened, and omitted the walnuts because we don't like them. Like some others have said, I would have preferred more fudgy brownies, but these were tasty nevertheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
What a great recipe! I did go with the suggestion of only using 3 cups coconut & 3 eggs. Turned out perfect! Be careful not to overbake though because they tend to dry out easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tower City, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
added 8oz package of cream cheese and 1 egg to coconut filling. These are amazing like that!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nmschalk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
WHile the filling for this brownie is brilliant, the brownie itself left much to be desired. After reading the reviews I decided to shorten the time in the oven and they are still a little dry. Next time I use the filling I will try a different brownie recipe....also I would consider only dabbing on the top layer so you get a marbled look. I think the coconut filling would be BRILLIANT if toasted slightly....and letting bits peek out under the top layer is how I would accomplish that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I doubled the amount of coconut and forgot the second dash of vanilla extract and I chose NOT to add the nuts (hubby doesn't like them) and I added mini chocolate chips to the coconut mix and they came out FABULOUS!!! Absolutely lovely! We will be making these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Lokerson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
First, let me say, this is the first brownie I have ever made that didn't come out of a box. I am the worst baker EVER! With that being said, I felt like giving it another try, and decided to try my hand at this recipe. I'm not sure what anyone else is referring to when they say the brownie part wasn't good, or was dry. These were AWESOME. Moist, delicious, tasty!!! Thank you so much for posting this recipe. The compliments I got from making these made me VERY happy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Wonderful! I used the filling with another brownie recipe, but I think next time I'll try the original brownie recipe instead. We loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Grove, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I'm only rating the coconut mixture and the idea of sandwiching it between brownies. I used a box mix to save on time, but otherwise followed the instructions...Wonderful! Even the folks who said they typically didn't like coconut LOVED them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicaD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
These brownies are super good. I took them to my in laws for New Year's and everyone loved them. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Pretty good. A little too sweet for my taste, but everyone else loved them. Mine didn't cut like pictured either. The center kinda integrated with everything else in a sticky sweet goo (a delicious goo according to my friends), so presentation was rough. Still good, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Downey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States