Coconut Macaroon Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Saw this recipe and decided to use my boxed brownie mix that was in my cabinet! Added the coconut mixture in the middle, along with some chocolate chips, walnuts and caramel bits. Then added the top brownie layer. Delicious! Not changing the original recipe, just used it as a spring board. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I USED A BOX OF FUDGE BROWNIE AND MIXED IN SLICED ALMONDS. THEN SPREAD BUTTER ON A 13X9 PYREX PAN AND SPRINKLED A COAT OF FLOUR ON LIKE YOU WOULD FOR CAKE. I LAYERED THE BOTTOM OF THE DISH WITH HALF OF THE MIX. FOR THE FILLING I USED ONE BAG OF SWEETENED COCONUT, A CUP OF WHOLE MILK, AND 1TBLSP. VANILLA. IT CAME OUT LIKE IT HAD CHOCOLATE FROSTING IN THE CENTER. THEN I SPREAD A LIL POWDERED SUGAR ON THE TOP. THE BROWNIES WERE DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
didn't change a thing and it came out fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mac Derringer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I made this recipe over the weekend and we loved it! It came out a lot like the picture and it was so yummy! I added extra cocoa because others mentioned it wasn't very chocolatey! I also only had sweetened coconut on hand so that's what I used. Thanks so much, Valerie, for sharing this with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAMENASHE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Could I reduce the amount of sugar since I only have sweetened coconut?and still have them come out ok?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glenda
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Way too dry and bland. I think could be very good with some changes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
So, I can't review the actual brownie part of the recipe (bc I used a box!), but the filling, to me, was too gooey. I used just over 3 cups of coconut (that's all I had left and wasn'to going to the store for more). They were hard to cut and didn't present well, but the guests at the party were raving about them... So I guess that's what's important. I love the idea, but I'm not sure that I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Made as is. I like my brownies with more chocolate but got rave reviews at the bbq. Next time I think I will try as others have done and use a different brownie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
These are fantastic. I used my brownie recipe as many other reviewers. We could not stop eating these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
OH......MY.......WORD!!!!! These are unbelievably delicious. I used 2 Ghiradelli Brownie mixes as the base, made the coconut filling per the recipe, and baked per the box mix instructions. Perfect for a 9x13 pan. Sooooo easy, but gourmet taste out the ying-yang!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States