Coconut-Lime Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
This was a very light, refreshing sorbet but it didn't taste a whole lot like coconut. I added a little bit of sugar just because I felt that it really needed some, and the lime flavor came out just right-not too sour or sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I cannot rate this recipe as I made it incorrectly, and realized my mistake too late. It is VERY important to use Cream of Coconut (which is sweetened) and not Coconut Milk (which is unsweetened). I think this is why other reviewers claimed this dessert was too tart. I added a cup of sugar after freezing, but before hardening and even this could not save the flavor. Will try again with the right ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daktari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
If you can't find cream of coconut in the baking section of your store, try a liquor store. It is sold here under the brand name of "Coco Casa" as a piña colada mix. Anyway, this is one super sorbet! I made it just as written. The lime flavor is mild but welcomely refreshing. And yes, it is a sweet sorbet, but so long as you expect that, it is really good. Very nice! Thanks for sharing this one, Nandabear!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WileyP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
5 Stars. Perfect recipe, as-is, even if I added 1/2 tsp. vanilla & some grated lemon zest - not necessary. I read that it's best for all ingredients to be chilled well, so we chilled down the lime juice and coconut cream and we used ice water. We also added 2 teaspoons of light rum - I read that alcohol reduces iciness in the final product, so we tried it. We ran the Cuisinart for 30 minutes, resulting in a smooth, creamy soft serve and froze the rest in individual containers. * * * I have to tell you, we took the just-made sorbet, which was rich and creamy -not too sweet, not too tart- and dropped into into a tall, cold glass of Vanilla Coke with ice cubes, then stirred with a straw to make *the most incredible* float! It creamed and frothed up in the glass. Delicious and decadent. This is now our favorite dessert, hands down. An adult version of course is quite nice with more light rum in it. * * * I just tasted the sorbet that froze and ripened overnight and it has a wonderful, creamy texture, not icy. It also has the same sweet-tart taste as yesterday, so it did not sweeten appreciably, as I read that it might. As mentioned by another reviewer, it does melt quickly, especially if it's hot in your kitchen. * * * Did I mention this was our first recipe using our beautiful new red Cuisinart? Couldn't have picked a better recipe as our first. * * * Footnote: Just topped out pancakes with this. Sinful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buns
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This sorbet is really delicious if you use syrup, but not water. I used coconut milk (I just didn`t go for a cream of coconut), lime juice, a little lime zest and 1/2 cup of syrup. My sorbet was so delicious and tropical. It reminds me of Brazilian Lemonade from this site. In any case, thank you for a great idea, Joyosita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I loved the recipe. I followed it exactly and it wasn't to sour or to sweet. No sugar needed. I also tried it substituting the lime juice with pineapple juice and it was sooooo good. If you like pina coladas, try it with the pineapple juice!! I can't decide which way I like best. Thanks Joy for a great recipe and new ideas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
I christened my new ice cream maker w/ this recipe! Like Frambuesa, I too thought it must need a bit of sugar so I added a few tbp. It was too sweet & next time I won't add any. I served this for dessert in vintage sherbet glasses & garnished w/ a sprinkling of lime zest....it was the perfect finish to a Caribbean Shrimp salad. We loved it & look forward to having it many times....thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
i love coconut, this is a great sorbet! fast easy, and excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly to make a lovely, bright, sweet-tart flavored sorbet. The second time I added ~1/2 c unsweetened coconut milk that I had left over from another recipe, ~1 c. light cream, and ~1/2 c extra sugar, and the result was a wonderfully refreshing coconut-lime ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Excellent recipe, easy and a huge hit. Anyone who reviews it as too tart wasn't using the correct ingredients ,i.e. Coconut milk/cream rather than Cream of Coconut. Lime zest over the top as a garnish was a great suggestion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMISA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Fresh Strawberry Granita

Turn fresh strawberries into an impressive and simple frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States