Coconut-Lime Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
very sour. i suggest reducing the amount of lime by at least half. i made mine with 1/2 cup of lime and could not taste the 15 ounces of cocounut at all. it wasnt edible...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
If you can't find cream of coconut in the baking section of your store, try a liquor store. It is sold here under the brand name of "Coco Casa" as a piña colada mix. Anyway, this is one super sorbet! I made it just as written. The lime flavor is mild but welcomely refreshing. And yes, it is a sweet sorbet, but so long as you expect that, it is really good. Very nice! Thanks for sharing this one, Nandabear!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WileyP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I cannot rate this recipe as I made it incorrectly, and realized my mistake too late. It is VERY important to use Cream of Coconut (which is sweetened) and not Coconut Milk (which is unsweetened). I think this is why other reviewers claimed this dessert was too tart. I added a cup of sugar after freezing, but before hardening and even this could not save the flavor. Will try again with the right ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daktari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
The problem with this recipe is that it is WAY too sour. I like sour things but I ended up having to open a can of sweetened condensed milk and add some to it. We ended up with a nice milkshake after I did that so for this reason only I'll give it 3 stars. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
I'm giving this a 3 only because I'm assuming I did something wrong for mine to turn out the way they did. Everyone else seems to love it, so I'm posting this only as a warning that you might want to test the recipe first before serving to guests. I thought I liked tart things, but this was extreme. I don't think anyone ate more than a bite or two. I went over the recipe and can't think of anything I did wrong, but I must be missing something. We used it up by adding a spoonful to the homemade shakes we like to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
I made this for a dinner party at our home. Everyone loved it! It was the perfect ending to our meal. I will definitely make this again and again! I doubled the recipe for 6 adults and we just barely had enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
This is NOT a sweet dessert -- if you're looking for ice cream, don't make this recipe. BUT it is such an interesting taste. Very exotic. Just don't plan on eating more than a quarter cup -- max.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
This was SOOO good and easy. I doubled the recipe and ate the whole thing myself. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
I christened my new ice cream maker w/ this recipe! Like Frambuesa, I too thought it must need a bit of sugar so I added a few tbp. It was too sweet & next time I won't add any. I served this for dessert in vintage sherbet glasses & garnished w/ a sprinkling of lime zest....it was the perfect finish to a Caribbean Shrimp salad. We loved it & look forward to having it many times....thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
This was really good! The recipe couldn't be simpler and is perfect just the way it is. Tastes like something you might have for dessert at a thai restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Fresh Strawberry Granita

Turn fresh strawberries into an impressive and simple frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States