Coconut-Lime Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I found this exact recipe in an old issue of Gourmet magazine from November 1997. It's pretty good as is, but I also added some coconut flakes for a little something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Fantastic! I, also, added a little rum and a little lime zest and doubled the recipe. Poured finished sorbet into ramekins and froze to have single servings for a party. So easy and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I loved the recipe. I followed it exactly and it wasn't to sour or to sweet. No sugar needed. I also tried it substituting the lime juice with pineapple juice and it was sooooo good. If you like pina coladas, try it with the pineapple juice!! I can't decide which way I like best. Thanks Joy for a great recipe and new ideas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Perfect!! Would not change anything. I will be making this all summer. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Excellent recipe, easy and a huge hit. Anyone who reviews it as too tart wasn't using the correct ingredients ,i.e. Coconut milk/cream rather than Cream of Coconut. Lime zest over the top as a garnish was a great suggestion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMISA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This recipe is great! I would recommend that coconut milk lovers stick with using coconut milk, It is more suddle and tastes more smooth than the cream of coconut. The cream of coconut was VERY sweet to me and had a weird texture frozen, Infact a friend who had tasted it said that it tasted like sweet frozen cheese cake. I am going to use this recipe in the future, with coconut milk and maybe boil peppermint leaves in the water for a flavored water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nawtical_stars

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
5 Stars. Perfect recipe, as-is, even if I added 1/2 tsp. vanilla & some grated lemon zest - not necessary. I read that it's best for all ingredients to be chilled well, so we chilled down the lime juice and coconut cream and we used ice water. We also added 2 teaspoons of light rum - I read that alcohol reduces iciness in the final product, so we tried it. We ran the Cuisinart for 30 minutes, resulting in a smooth, creamy soft serve and froze the rest in individual containers. * * * I have to tell you, we took the just-made sorbet, which was rich and creamy -not too sweet, not too tart- and dropped into into a tall, cold glass of Vanilla Coke with ice cubes, then stirred with a straw to make *the most incredible* float! It creamed and frothed up in the glass. Delicious and decadent. This is now our favorite dessert, hands down. An adult version of course is quite nice with more light rum in it. * * * I just tasted the sorbet that froze and ripened overnight and it has a wonderful, creamy texture, not icy. It also has the same sweet-tart taste as yesterday, so it did not sweeten appreciably, as I read that it might. As mentioned by another reviewer, it does melt quickly, especially if it's hot in your kitchen. * * * Did I mention this was our first recipe using our beautiful new red Cuisinart? Couldn't have picked a better recipe as our first. * * * Footnote: Just topped out pancakes with this. Sinful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buns
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Intensely flavored. Perfect just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Perfect as is. It reminds me of key lime pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This sorbet is really delicious if you use syrup, but not water. I used coconut milk (I just didn`t go for a cream of coconut), lime juice, a little lime zest and 1/2 cup of syrup. My sorbet was so delicious and tropical. It reminds me of Brazilian Lemonade from this site. In any case, thank you for a great idea, Joyosita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Fresh Strawberry Granita

Turn fresh strawberries into an impressive and simple frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States