Coconut-Lime Chicken with Grilled Pineapple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I made this once, exactly as described and was not happy with the results. I did have some hope for the sauce so I tried it again and made some adjustments. I used grilled shrimp instead of the chicken, and they did grab the tequila marinade better than the chicken. But for the sauce I used 8 oz. of sour cream, since the 16 oz. is too much. I then doubled the lime juice, coconut milk, garlic and cilantro. It was better, but stil on the bland side. I don't plan on making this recipe again, but I do think that the base of that sour cream/coconut milk sauce could have potential and I plan to work on tweaking that. I will say that the sour cream sauce was very good on the grilled pineapple since the sweet and sour mixed together nicely. But the sauce itself is too bland to add to much of anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
We loved this recipe! I served over couscous and my kids liked the sauce so well they were fighting over the last of the couscous to eat with more sauce. The Chicken was great, very tender and flavorful. Definitely adding to our regulars, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
This made wayyy to much sauce but the marinated chicken was awsome. Kids loved it. Nice & summery for a hot night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Not the greatest. With some of your own tweaking it could be better. I did not follow it exactly (marinade was with beer), but it was the white sauce that was most disappointing. I even added more coconut milk and it was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
This was ok. Not something that I will make a lot. I will give it one more shot. I marinated the chicken for about 30 min. but it seemed a little strong. Think I may try adding soem pinapple juice to it next time to sweeten it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milledgeville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Winder, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
I made skewers instead of the method suggested here. I also added some coconut oil to the marinade and used curry paste instead of cayenne pepper. When finished I served it with some avocado. FABOULOUS!!! I suggest this recipe for a nice tropical treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I was very surprised with the taste of this recipe. At first I tasted the sauce without the chicken and didn't like it. Then I put a teaspoonful on the chicken just to try it. WOW! Really good! We modified it and used Corona beer instead, but it was REALLY REALLY good. Chicken was so moist and full of flavor. We will definitely try this recipe when we have friends and family over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
I thought this was a great recipe. The pineapple is the key player in the mix. I'm not sure if I just couldn't taste it, but I had to add extra coconut milk. The mixture just tasted like lime-flavored sour cream without it. Otherwise it was excellent, and my company loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phillips, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Leavenworth, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
At first I had my doubts and tasted the chicken before the Coconut mix was ready-well I was proved wrong when it was put together the way it should be and it was even better the next day- next time I would cut the coconut/sour cream mix in half because we had alot left over but now if I had some tequila shrimp to try it with........next time! Will make again but hubby suggested in the form of kabobs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
I really liked this recipe. It had a very unique flavor but very tasty. My husband even liked it and he never likes anything out of the ordinary. I replaced the tequila with riesling wine and used stevia in stead of the brown sugar. I also bought a whole coconut and used the milk in that for the sauce, and also added some shredded coconut to the sauce. yum! I served with rosemary garlic couscous and some steamed zucchini & yellow squash. It was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cornell Grilled Chicken

See how to make Dr. Baker’s famous Cornell chicken.

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

See how to make a great marinade and basting sauce for grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States