Coconut Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
So good and SO EASY! We had it twice this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
i added chicken and that was yummy, you can fiddle with this to your taste with out much danger...freezes great too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
Great dish - tasted as good or better than many of the Indian restaurants' lentil dishes I've had here in Chicago. My lack of expertise at shredding the coconut made this a lenghty prep dish, but it was worth it in the end. Very healthy, and high in protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
Tasted nothing like the coconut lentil soup I had in a restaurant and thought was delicious. This was just ok with a strong taste of curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
This was just...weird. My boyfriend liked it, but I don't know how I feel about it. It was just okay...I changed the recipe quite a bit to even get it to taste okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2004
I tried this recipe and thought it was fantastic! I cooked a double recipe and the whole thing disapeared! I substituted 2/3 of the soy milk to coconut milk as someone had suggested and it really added alot of flavour. Make sure to cook it long enough to soften it until it looks more like pulp then lentils. Some people described it as bland, but all it needs that the recipe doesn't call for is alot more salt! Try this and it will be much tastier! I will add this to my permanent repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
I used a can of coconut juice (with shredded bits) and a little cow's milk instead of the soy milk and coconut. Also added fresh cilantro, and pureed about 1/3 of the soup after cooking. Very tasty! Will definitely use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
YUM YUM! I made this, but used a total of 4c of water, and instead of the soy milk, I used a can of light coconut milk, and garnished with coconut....wow I thought I died and went to heaven. This will make a regular appearance in my lunchbox!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2004
I really liked the flavour of this. Making as per recipe the lentils are not as "soupy" as I would like so I added about a cup of veggie chiken stock to thin out the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2004
I added a couple of teaspoons of chicken base and, eventually, some garlic salt. It was pretty bland otherwise. I also used dried, unsweetened coconut which I soaked in the soy milk to soften before I pureed. I'll try the coconut milk next time and increase the garlic. I did, however, like the taste combinations. Will serve with plain yogurt, of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States