Coconut Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
Pretty good. Instead of using the soy milk and coconut I just used a can of coconut water with the little chunks of coconut floating in it. It turned out really well. It's better the next day, though, after the flavors have had a chance to develop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I thought the coconut flavor might save the lentils, but as usual, the blandness of the lentils was overbearing in this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
I also tweaked this recipe quite a bit. I sauteed the onion and garlic and some chili pepper with the spices prior to adding the lentils and water. I also used coconut milk instead of the soy. Also - added a large can of diced tomatoes to make it heartier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
This was just so-so. I had to make some changes based on what was in the house-- brown lentils, regular milk, white onion, ground ginger. I used red curry paste instead of powder, which would have helped if I'd not over done it-- not the recipe's fault. However, I do think it needs coconut milk and not soy milk mixed with shredded coconut. The shredded coconut could still be added though, even with using coconut milk. Overall, a 3.5, but could be good with some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
This was OK. I agree with the other reviews; it was a little bland. I added coconut milk and ground cumin which helped add more flavor. Also you will need at least 4 cups of water to boil the lentils in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
The textures didn't go right for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
I was alittle disappointed with this recipe. I too, substituted in coconut milk. Overall, I thought the recipe was lacking in flavor. It was edible, just missing a special ingredient. I might try it again and tinker with it to see if I can get the right flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gigi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emmett, Idaho, USA
Living In: Plantation, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marian
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
If I could give more than 5 stars, I would! This was incredible! However, as is always the case with me, I did make modifications. I only had 1 1/4 cups red lentils and I ended up using 1/4 cup regular lentils (as you can see in the picture I am submitting, the color of the soup was not uniform, but that was unimportant). I did add salt to the water when cooking the lentils and ended up adding probably close to 1 more cup of water. I used the suggested coconut milk and used Jamaican Curry Powder along with (as suggested) red pepper flakes, cumin, and cinnamon. I then prepared some Jasmine rice and steamed some broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots as that is what I had in the freezer. I spooned some veggies and some rice in a bowl and ladled the soup over top. This makes a lot of soup and I thought for sure we would have substantial leftovers, but my son ate 4 huge servings and he is only 12 years old! It was delicious and I could easily make it again and have it tonight. Be warned, however, that meat eaters may not find it substantial enough to their liking. I am a vegetarian and my husband is not and although he ate it, I do not think he will request it again any time soon. That's ok because there will be more for my son and I! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
Very yummy... I also used 1/2 can of coconut milk instead of soymilk, added a pinch of garam masala and will toss in some cooked rice next time for a little more substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
3.5 stars. Very easy to make, actually tastes better after a few days when the flavours have had the opportunity to settle. I used coconut milk instead of the soy, and added shredded coconut and green peas. It was kind of lacking flavour, so I added red pepper flakes, cumin, and a pinch of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States