Coconut Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
Pretty good. Instead of using the soy milk and coconut I just used a can of coconut water with the little chunks of coconut floating in it. It turned out really well. It's better the next day, though, after the flavors have had a chance to develop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I thought the coconut flavor might save the lentils, but as usual, the blandness of the lentils was overbearing in this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
I also tweaked this recipe quite a bit. I sauteed the onion and garlic and some chili pepper with the spices prior to adding the lentils and water. I also used coconut milk instead of the soy. Also - added a large can of diced tomatoes to make it heartier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Baldridge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
This was just so-so. I had to make some changes based on what was in the house-- brown lentils, regular milk, white onion, ground ginger. I used red curry paste instead of powder, which would have helped if I'd not over done it-- not the recipe's fault. However, I do think it needs coconut milk and not soy milk mixed with shredded coconut. The shredded coconut could still be added though, even with using coconut milk. Overall, a 3.5, but could be good with some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
This was OK. I agree with the other reviews; it was a little bland. I added coconut milk and ground cumin which helped add more flavor. Also you will need at least 4 cups of water to boil the lentils in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
The textures didn't go right for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
I was alittle disappointed with this recipe. I too, substituted in coconut milk. Overall, I thought the recipe was lacking in flavor. It was edible, just missing a special ingredient. I might try it again and tinker with it to see if I can get the right flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gigi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emmett, Idaho, USA
Living In: Plantation, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marian
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
If I could give more than 5 stars, I would! This was incredible! However, as is always the case with me, I did make modifications. I only had 1 1/4 cups red lentils and I ended up using 1/4 cup regular lentils (as you can see in the picture I am submitting, the color of the soup was not uniform, but that was unimportant). I did add salt to the water when cooking the lentils and ended up adding probably close to 1 more cup of water. I used the suggested coconut milk and used Jamaican Curry Powder along with (as suggested) red pepper flakes, cumin, and cinnamon. I then prepared some Jasmine rice and steamed some broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots as that is what I had in the freezer. I spooned some veggies and some rice in a bowl and ladled the soup over top. This makes a lot of soup and I thought for sure we would have substantial leftovers, but my son ate 4 huge servings and he is only 12 years old! It was delicious and I could easily make it again and have it tonight. Be warned, however, that meat eaters may not find it substantial enough to their liking. I am a vegetarian and my husband is not and although he ate it, I do not think he will request it again any time soon. That's ok because there will be more for my son and I! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
Very yummy... I also used 1/2 can of coconut milk instead of soymilk, added a pinch of garam masala and will toss in some cooked rice next time for a little more substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
3.5 stars. Very easy to make, actually tastes better after a few days when the flavours have had the opportunity to settle. I used coconut milk instead of the soy, and added shredded coconut and green peas. It was kind of lacking flavour, so I added red pepper flakes, cumin, and a pinch of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States