Coconut Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Surprisingly good. The coconut is very well balanced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
It was good enough to eat, but I can't say it's my favorite dish. I made a few modifications to bring it up to 4 stars. If I hadn't made these changes it would be extremely bland. I used coconut milk instead of soy milk, I used unsweetened coconut shreds (it doesn't specify, but this is what I had in the house), I added a tsp of cinnamon, a lot of Kosher salt (REALLY needed salt), a tsp of garlic powder and a tsp more of curry powder. Maybe it will taste better tomorrow as another reviewer suggested?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Awesome!!! Hard to beleive something so healthy, gluten and dairy free can be soooooooo good! AND easy to make. Will become a regular in my house for sure! I used a whole tin of coconut milk instead of the other liquids (left the water for the lentils the same) and doubled all the seasonings including the ginger. MMMM mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orleans, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This is a really excellent base recipe. I doubled the amount (four servings just didn't seem enough in this Jewish household) and added a carrot and parsnip. Amped up the garlic and ginger and added cumin, chile powder and cayenne to the seasoning mix, as well as a serrano chile, keeping the seeds. Nice pungent yet subtle mix. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Landa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Pretty good, but needs a touch more flavor and more liquid for sure. I'd up it to 3 cups water AND 1 cup soy milk. OR you can do what I did, add about 1/2 cup apple juice. Adds liquid and more flavor depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
YUMMY, I have love in my tummy! Following other reviewers suggestions I used 4c up chicken stock instead of water and used a can of coconut milk instead of the soy milk. I also added 1 tbsp of salt. I used red curry paste instead of curry powder. Finally, I garnished the soup with fresh cilantro before eating. I love this recipe and will make it in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I followed this recipe pretty closely, and it was definately missing something. Will try it again with some serious modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Great recipe, I didnt use shredded coconut but used coconut milk instead of the soy milk. I used regular lentils and yellow onions. I didnt have fresh ginger root so I used a teaspoon of dryed ground ginger. My husband loved it, we will have it again for one of our meatless meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parlier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I followed the top reviewer's notes and used 4 cups of water (a MUST) and a can of lite coconut milk instead of soy milk and shredded coconut. I also pureed the lentils. The result was a rich and creamy soup with a unique taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States