Coconut Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This is awesome. It definitely hit the spot while I was craving a warm hearty soup on this cold rainy and windy day. It's perfect on a Sunday night watching football and cozying up to this soup. I wish I had made basmati rice with it but instead I poured myself a glass of white wine and heated a crusted artisan roll with butter..mmmmm. it doesn't get better than this. Oh by the way, I did add salt and used coconut milk instead, also what really added flavor was a teaspoon of Garam Masala and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Excellent recipe. Only change I mad was to add 2 celery stalks and 1 cup of diced tomatoes for extra substance. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoGidd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Delicious and EASY! After the changes I made, I would give it 5 stars for sure! I added quite a bit more ginger and curry powder, used coconut milk instead of soy (and more of it), added cumin and cinnamon, more salt, and cooked it with cashews. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This recipe was fun to make..easy. I just dont like it being so sweet, personally. My sweetheart liked it and so did my GF so.. it was good. probably wont make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Marrott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
This was pretty tasty, if a little on the bland side. Like another reviewer, I used coconut milk in place of the soy milk/shredded coconut and it seemed to work fine. I also reduced the cooking time by 10 minutes and my lentils still turned to mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Really tasty -- made this as a quick dinner when I had nothing else in the cupboard. Had no ginger - so I sprinkled a little bit of pumpkin pie spice, used chicken broth instead of water for the lentils and used more of it as I had it on too high for the first bit. Instead of soy/coconut blend I used a can of coconut milk. It was great, easy and fast. I liked that it was made from staples I always have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I made the recipe as suggested, however used regular milk in place of soy milk. I also added some cinnamon and cumin to give it more flavor since other readers said it was kind of bland. It tasted horrible!!! I was so tempted to throw it out but decided to wait. Put it in the fridge overnight and the next day it tasted much better! I wasn't a big fan of the shredded coconut; it made the dish too sweet, and I think next time I will either reduce the amount or omit it entirely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raye of Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I thought this recipe was fabulous - though I did replace the soy milk with coconut milk as others have advised. I also added peas, sliced carrots, cumin, and a bouillon cube to the soup for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Loved this vegan recipe it had great flavor. I agree with other reviewers that spooning it over rice & veggies or eating alone is great. I loved the contrast of the coconut and curry. I used sweetened coconut I had from baking and it worked ok, I bet it's a lot better with fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: River Rouge, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States