Coconut Jerk Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I substituted a small can of tomato sauce for the canned tomatoes and juice. I also used homemade jerk seasoning that is not dry. It came out amazing! This is one of our new favorite dishes for sure. JUST the right amount of spice and big flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Couldn't find the Carribean jerk dry seasoning and didn't have the chicken bouillon granules so I substituted Chef Merito's Chicken seasoning [3 tsp] and added 1/2 tsp of chili pepper. Was delicious. I nice mild seasoning that let me savor all the flavors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Turned out great. It's not a quick dinner to make, but very yummy. Definitely need to simmer a bit longer so everything has the chance to meld together! Husband LOVED it. Just back from Afghanistan, and couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Huntersmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
This was not as spicy as I thought it would be. It was quite watery so I thickened it a tad with corn starch. Perhaps I should have drained the tomatoes--I used a can of diced and did not drain off and reserve the juice, which was probably more than the 1/2 cup they wished you to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Definitely did not meet my expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
This was awesome! So much flavour. Next time I might increase the jerk spice for a little extra kick. Had to add some corn starch to thicken the sauce a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This recipie was good, but i think as written, it needs a little more sugar/salt to bring out the flavors. I actually altered the recipie a little bit for 1 lb of chicken, but used the same quantities for 2 lbs. except for the chicken bouillon. I did not have chicken bouillon and substituted with 1 cup of chicken broth. Unless you are cooking in a very large wok or skillet, I would not use more than 1 cup of chicken stock in the absence of bouillon, even if using 2 lbs of chicken. I also recommend cooking the chicken first with the spices before adding the chicken stock. I did not have squash or mushrooms, so i substituted with peas. I ended up adding more sugar, salt, and curry and jamaican seasoning as the chicken simmered for 40 minutes. In the process I lost a little of the coconut flavor. I didn't see much point to the tomato juice but added it anyway. In the end, I mixed up about 2-3 table spoons of corn starch in cold chicken broth to help thicken the curry and served over rice. I think the flavors are good, but it needs some minor adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Amazing recipe! Would have been worth 5 stars if followed exactly as written, but felt like a few minor mods made it above and beyond delicious! Would use about half the suggested butternut amount next time. Before serving, I added the juice of one lime (really brightened all the flavors), 1 tsp salt (also really brought out the flavors) and 1/4 teaspoon of Cayenne pepper, which gave it just a little bit of a kick (the carribean seasoning we found wasn't spicy, so taste before adding this in case yours is). Some reviewers mentioned that the flavors needed a bit more time to really meld, so I opted to cook everything (except the chicken) in the crockpot on low all day. Then an hour before dinner, I added the cubed chicken. The flavors and consistency were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Dish was okay, if a little too tomato-based. I added fresh toasted coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaHadley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami Shores, Florida, USA
Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Jerk Chicken Wings

Caramelized chicken wings marinated in spicy Jamaican jerk seasonings.

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States