Coconut Jays Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I made these for a work cookie exchange and they were a hit. I used the recommended amount of butter and they were just fine. I think the amount is necessary to solidify in the refridgerator and hold the cookies together. I did not use the optional cherrys. I also did them with both unsweetened and semi-sweet chocolate and both tasted good. If you love mounds bars you'll love these because they taste just like them. I was asked for the recipe by several people. We all wondered if maybe adding an almond would result in an Almond Joy. I am pretty sure it would. I recommend doing the recipe as stated and you will have complete satisfaction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Lots of work for this "so so" cookie. I thought mine were mushy, so I added more coconut. Like other reviewers said, too much butter is called for in this recipe. Overall, just not impressed with this cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Omg. These were DELICIOUS! I listened to the other reviews and reduced the amount of butter by just a tiny bit. They tasted like mounds candy bars! They were really messy when trying to form them into balls, but other than that, they were a breeze to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I thought they were a bit heavy but everybody loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Very good. Would have been too sweet with sweetened chocolate. I did not end up with too much butter at all, but did use more coconut and powdered sugar than recipe called for. I will wait to see what Christmas guests have to say
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
These were okay. Not entirely what I was expecting. There's FAR too much butter in the recipe. I probably had 3 or so tbs of melted butter at the bottom of the bowl after I pulled all the dough. My hands were just coated in butter afterwards. Can't imagine letting my kids help me with these unless I wanted them greasy. I ended up using 2 extra blocks of chocolate, 3 semisweet and 1 unsweetened. They're just ok. If I make them again I'll use less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This recipe was awesome! My husband who is not a fan of anything too sweet loved it. Next time I think I will try a sweetened chocolate though. This is a must try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Great for my sweet toothed husband. Next time I'm going to make the balls bite sized instead of cookie sized and maybe use semi-sweet chocolate instead of unsweetened (because of the sweet toothed husband!)Going to make them again for Christmas this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCdnFrog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napanee, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
I got a lot of compliments on these at Christmas. Too Sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernice

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Very easy to make something very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States