Coconut Icebox Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
Really yummy - I made these for a party, and sifted (lightly) powdered sugar over them - a hit!!! Thanks Nan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Wow. I LOVE this dough. It's easy to work with, it shapes nicely, and you can vary it to no end. I never had a problem with it not being coconutty enough, but I do toast my coconut first. Recent variation: subbed 1/4 c cocoa powder for 1/4 c of the flour and omitted coconut (and coconut extract). Added crushed chocolate covered espresso beans. My husband ate the whole batch in two days. Thanks, Nan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
I made these with my 4 year old son yesterday and they turned out fantastic! I planned to save them for Christmas, but my son ate one half, and my husband ate the rother half - I only tasted one cookie... We did make an alteration, though, I used brown sugar (half brown, half white). We also coated the cookies in dark chocolate and sprinkled some coconut on top - my son loved doing that! I'll be making another batch when son's in kindergarten and husband at work, so that I can hide the cookies and save them for Christmas :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
really tasty. slightly addictive! i too put the coconut in my food processor to make it a bit more fine. easy and delicious, two things that i love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JunkyVanRobot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murrieta, California, USA
Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Everyone loved these! So easy to make and the dough was great to work with. I did omit the vanilla and replaced with more coconut extract. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
Light, crispy and simple. These go great with a cup of tea. I pulsed the coconut in my food processor. Made for a better texture. Thanks Nan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Delicious Goodness! I love coconut, so when I came across this recipe I had to try it. They were even better than I had expected. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metamora, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Very surprising. I usually don't like coconut but my children had been after me to let them see what a whole coconut was all about. After opening, peeling and shredding, I had to do something with this coconut. This was just the thing. I didn't have any coconut extract, so I just omitted it. They were great without. I did have to cook quite a bit longer than recommended, but we often have to for high altitude cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
I loved these cookies. I had to make something with a coconut theme and they did great. To add a little flavor to the mixture I added crushed macadamia nuts and when they were out of the oven I sprinkled more coconut on top. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I made these exactly as the recipe states, the only thing I changed was rather then putting the dough in the fridge to chill, I sped things up by using the freezer. They turned out lovely. Nice and light and very tasty. I will definately make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melfort, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Taber, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States