Coconut Ice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
Wonderful! This is exactly how coconut ice is supposed to taste and how I remember it from my childhood. (I suspect some of the other reviewers might have used sweetened coconut instead of plain flaked coconut, that would definitely make this too sweet.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
I didn't have any nonsweetened coconut, and I read somewhere that in that case you should decrease sugar to 1/2 cup. Or maybe by 1/2 cup. I don't know. In any case, I used 2/3 c each water and sugar, the vanilla, and I cooked the coconut in syrup until the whole of it was at soft ball. I also beat it a little much - be careful about that; stop while it's still a little drippy, or it will be crumbly later. The result? It was delicious, but it made about 20 square inches. Hmmm. I think I'll try and get my hands on some non-sweetened coconut next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shoreline, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
I agree, this receipe was way way too sweet, even for me. It was a waste of ingredients that's for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I have been looking for years for this recipe. I tried it and it is really the best I have tasted. I do not like the "soft" coconut ice that you can buy or make. I prefer a bit of "bite" to my coconut ice, and this really fills the bill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
Very very sweet. I'm a huge sweet eater and I couldn't even handle these. Very attractive, but a combo of just sugar and coconut is just too sweet. Though they did look good on a cookie/fudge platter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Takes me back home to Grenada! Just because of that I would give it 10 stars if I could! I enjoyed having my daughter make this with me and when I watched her eyes when she took her 1st bite it was HEAVEN! Sweet sugared coconut is all is it BUT the memories of home is worth it! I'll make it again. Thank you for this :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
thanks for the recipe - i decreased the amount of sugar - though very sweet. Wasn't as chewy as i expected. I added strawberry flavouring instead of the colouring, which worked well with the coconut. Thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
My father is lactose intolerant and loves fudge. We used to get coconut ice from a fudge guy at the fair each year when I was younger but he hasn't been there the last faw years. Dad loves this stuff but it is very sweet!! Better if you blend the coconut down so it's more fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
It tastes EXACTLY as I remember as a kid too!... just sugar and coconut.. what else does a kid need?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This worked okay. I had to make two batches of it though, because half of the original recipe only covered half of my pan! I flavored the entire first batch with vanilla and cut the sugar back to 1 cup since I used sweetened coconut. The second batch I flavored with strawberry and used hot pink food coloring. it turned out pretty sweet, but it wasn't too bad. My kids really liked the pink/strawberry combo, and asked me to experiment with other colors & flavors too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States