Coconut Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
just ok; doesnt' set as well as I thought it should and the taste didnt' seem natural. ok recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This was good, but the shredded coconut was a little over the top with the cream of coconut. And I LOVE coconut! I tried to find coconut extract, but wasn't successful. I think I'd use that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywife05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
AWESOME!!! So Creamy!! I will be making this All summer!! I only left out the flaked coconut just because I don't like chewing it in ice cream. Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve Leslie Knoll

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Tasty recipe! I added shredded coconut, as well as, chopped macadamia nuts and added a couple swirls of hot fudge at the end. It reminded me of my favorite Lambert's Ice Cream flavor that you can only get on the islands. The cream of coconut is easy to find in the mixers section (usually with soda, where you can get margarita mix, grenadine, etc) of your local supermarket. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This was really a great and easy recipe. This ice cream was so creamy and stayed that way even when opened the next day. I though I would have to add an egg or two but i held off and stayed with the recipe. I used unsweetened vanilla almond milk and thought I would need to add sugar but the cocconut cream is so sweet it needed nothing more. I had an extra ounce of coconut cream so i added that. I also added the flaked coconut and I would maybe hold off a bit next time. I also think I will add less cream and more milk because 1) the cream gives you that funny film in your mouth and 2) i like my ice cream more like frozen yogurt texture. For a simple coconut ice cream recipe, this was really REALLY great. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Lots to like about this one--simple, easy & fast to put together, delish. Love ice cream recipes w/o the need to make an egg custard. I used UNsweetened coconut. The ice cream is sweet enough w/o adding more 'sugar.' Also, stays scoopable after days in freezer, not hard like a rock. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shirley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This is so easy to make; no cooking required! I added some mini chocolate chips and now my boyfriend wants it for dessert every night! I'm debating whether to make it without the flaked coconut...it takes a little effort on the chewing end. The cream of coconut was a little hard to find; I finally found it in the "exotic foods" section of our local chain supermarket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrington, Maine, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Perfect and so creamy! The cream of coconut will start to solidify when combined with the cold milk and heavy cream, so start with the cream of coconut and add the milk and cream slowly. I used the kitchenaid ice cream attachment and the recipe fit perfectly in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
It is very good. I made my own version and added pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Awesome! "Goya" brand makes a great cream of coconut. Also, if there is Trader Joe's in your area, some of the stores plan to carry cream of coconut soon. TJ's also carries heavy cream (not just heavy whipping cream) which can be a challenge to find as well. Very easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States