Coconut Horchata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Patience!!! Takes a while to make this but OHH is it worth it. For those having trouble straining it try placing a double layer of cheese cloth over a bowl and secure with a large rubber band. Pour puree over cheese cloth and allow to drain. Repeat process using a sieve to get the smaller particles out. It's an extra step but much easier than trying to force it through a sieve the first time and gives you a much smoother puree to finish with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suzie
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Try straining it in batches. I use a large wire strainer and I fill it 1/3 of the way full before I dump out the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I used a 15 oz. can of Creme of Coconut, which made it sweet enough to not add the sweetened condensed milk. I also added a sprinkle of cinnamon before straining the mixture and finished it off with 1/2 cup of half & half to make it a bit creamier. Next time I would run the final product through a blender to incorporate the creme of coconut better. Delicious! It got rave reviews from everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This is so good! I've made horchata before but not like this version. I put it in a milk bottle and my neighbor thought it was just that and poured herself a glass. What a surprise!! Now she's into making horchata at her house. Thanks!! Rum does work in it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Kind of a pain to sieve but well worth the work! We added a bit of cinnamon too. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Love it, made it the first time today. I think in next batch I will skip the flake coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ieshadover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I made this today and just tried it--delicious! I have never tried horchata, so I have no basis for comparison, but I like it a lot. My only issue was trying to strain the rice mixture...it just didn't seem to be flowing through the sieve...maybe a drop at a time, but at times not even that. I finally took a flat glass pitcher lid and used that to press the top of the mixture, and then it came through. Does anyone know if there is a way to make that process easier? It did eventually work though, and it tastes great! I highly recommend adding the rum. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
The BEST horchata I have ever had, though I did add a hint of cinnamon! It was a hit within my household! I will most certainly make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This was so good! Ive made horchata before using another recipe and it was horrible. This recipe was delicious. The almonds and the coconut add so much, and using the sweetened condesed milk made it sweet but not sugary. This is my go to recipe from now on. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amderrick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buellton, California, USA
Living In: Los Olivos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Wow.... this is amazing!!! This is the perfect drink for a nice sunny day, very refreshing. while making this, i found it was easier to strain out the almond, rice, and coconut mixure if i poured it in small amounts instead of all at once. then i took a piece of aluminum foil and pressed down on it to get all of the liquid out. i'm going to recommend this recipe to all of my friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OrkyZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

Coconut Oil Coffee

Coconut oil and butter launch freshly brewed coffee into the flavor stratosphere.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States