Coconut (Haupia) and Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Super blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Last year I spent a week in Maui and I was introduced to a new dessert, Haupia Pie. This pie, from Broke da Mouth Cookie Store (yes, that is the name) set a very high bar to try to reach if I were going to try to re-create the pie. I had seen videos on how to make haupia pudding, and none seemed to convey the right methods for making the perfect pie. I came across this recipe and made it for the first time a few months ago. Since then, it has become a family favorite! The flavors are wonderful and the recipe is fool-proof. I use Ghirardelli 60% bittersweet chocolate chips, and in a lesser quantity than the recipe calls for, which gives a rich flavor. I toast coconut and set to the side so that those who like it can add it on top. This is a very memorable dessert and one which will surely get you lots of compliments! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This was very good, and easy too. I used a graham cracker crust to help save time, and added 1 tsp coconut flavoring to the white layer, after it had cooled. My family says it reminds them of an Almond Joy. I have made this many times and it always turns out well. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This looked quick to prepare and with the ingredients readily available on the property and in the house I decided to give it a go. The haupia was great with the addition of 1/2 teaspoon of real coconut extract and the toasted fresh shavings of coconut on top of the whipped cream added a nice texture and additional coconut flavor. I would recommend reducing semi sweet morsels to about a half cup as they tend to overpower the coconut flavor at 1 1/4 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HawaiiGuy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
really creamy and rich , i dint have a pie crust so i make it on parfait glasses , i added coconut flakes and coconut extract .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yessenia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Rich and decadent, a lovely Hawaiian pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
OMG! Rich and decadent. My husband said it tasted like a very expensive gourmet chocolate cream pie. Only complaint was I couldn't taste coconut. Next time i will add coconut extract.Can't wait to make this for our Easter family dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by krizias
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I made this for a Hawaiian style dinner party (my husband is from Honolulu), and everyone loved it! Like some have commented, be careful to use exactly the amount of chocolate called for; I used 1/4 cup more than the recipe lists and the chocolate flavor was a bit overpowering for the delicate coconut flavor. Make sure your pie crust is baked well; otherwise, it will get soggy. I had to place coins on foil on top of the crust while baking so that it wouldn't rise. Lastly, be sure to cool it in the fridge for at least 3 hours; 1 just isn't enough for it to be chilled through and result in a super clean slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krizias

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Absolutely delicious! It is now a family favorite and I am going to share it for our daughter's International Food Day at her school. I used canned coconut milk meant for making pina coladas and it was fantastic. In a pinch, I used a store-bought graham cracker crust, but it works well with homemade pastry crust too. The funny thing is, I never liked coconut anything until I tried this recipe. Thanks HOKU3! Don't try to make it healthy or you'll ruin it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by odetobeauty
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I made this for a Christmas potluck at work and it was a huge hit! I used a pre-made graham cracker crust (b/c I'm lazy). I also toasted some coconut to put on top. This was actually easy to make and tasted great!! I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by odetobeauty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States