Coconut (Haupia) and Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
The consistency that the 1/2 cup cornstarch was too much like jello. It didn't seem to effect the chocolate layer, but my boys don't like it. A little disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
I made this for Christmas dessert in Hawaii and it was perfect! Sweet but not too heavy for the hot weather. It'll be a tradition from now on in our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I changed water and milk to all coconut milk to give it fuller flavour, added chocolate to all the mix which set like a truffle mix, and added coconut rum to cream topping to give a coconut kick, everyone wanted seconds !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by monica
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Beautiful, delicious pie. I made it exactly according to the recipe, including whisking the custard like crazy while it was coming, and it came out perfectly. It was sliceable and pretty darn good after an hour in the fridge, but it was absolutely amazing the next day. We really liked the jello-like texture of the haupia layer and the rich chocolatey velvet of the chocolate layer. Personally I also preferred the whipped cream on top of the haupia layer, I think it helped give more of a contrast with the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This pie is beautiful, and has a light, creamy texture. But I won't be making it again. We found it rather bland. Despite subbing half the milk with additional coconut milk, the coconut flavor is very subtle. And the chocolate flavor wasn't all the strong either. If you want an incredible coconut cream pie, try old fashioned coconut cream pie on this site. If you do make this, I recommend using a graham cracker crust; it's a great foil for the custard. Replace half the milk with coconut milk, and reduce the cornstarch to 1/3 cup — no more is needed. To save a step, use mini chocolate chips and simply pour half the custard mixture over them and stir; it will melt right in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
i liked it and after realizing the gelatin like consistency is supposed to be that way, i give it three stars. i thought it was a mistake at first,but if its supposed to be that way then ok, pretty good. i liked someones idea of adding coconut extract to the white layers. i actually looked for some in my cupboard but didn't have any, so next time that would be the way to go, i like more coconut flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This pie tastes like a Mounds bar! The only thing I did differently was that I added 1/2 cur flaked coconut to the white layer and it was awesome!! It's very easy to make, too. I will definitely be making this again...soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S.RalstoninGA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Waco, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Super blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Last year I spent a week in Maui and I was introduced to a new dessert, Haupia Pie. This pie, from Broke da Mouth Cookie Store (yes, that is the name) set a very high bar to try to reach if I were going to try to re-create the pie. I had seen videos on how to make haupia pudding, and none seemed to convey the right methods for making the perfect pie. I came across this recipe and made it for the first time a few months ago. Since then, it has become a family favorite! The flavors are wonderful and the recipe is fool-proof. I use Ghirardelli 60% bittersweet chocolate chips, and in a lesser quantity than the recipe calls for, which gives a rich flavor. I toast coconut and set to the side so that those who like it can add it on top. This is a very memorable dessert and one which will surely get you lots of compliments! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This was very good, and easy too. I used a graham cracker crust to help save time, and added 1 tsp coconut flavoring to the white layer, after it had cooled. My family says it reminds them of an Almond Joy. I have made this many times and it always turns out well. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States