Coconut (Haupia) and Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
i liked it and after realizing the gelatin like consistency is supposed to be that way, i give it three stars. i thought it was a mistake at first,but if its supposed to be that way then ok, pretty good. i liked someones idea of adding coconut extract to the white layers. i actually looked for some in my cupboard but didn't have any, so next time that would be the way to go, i like more coconut flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This pie tastes like a Mounds bar! The only thing I did differently was that I added 1/2 cur flaked coconut to the white layer and it was awesome!! It's very easy to make, too. I will definitely be making this again...soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S.RalstoninGA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Waco, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Super blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Last year I spent a week in Maui and I was introduced to a new dessert, Haupia Pie. This pie, from Broke da Mouth Cookie Store (yes, that is the name) set a very high bar to try to reach if I were going to try to re-create the pie. I had seen videos on how to make haupia pudding, and none seemed to convey the right methods for making the perfect pie. I came across this recipe and made it for the first time a few months ago. Since then, it has become a family favorite! The flavors are wonderful and the recipe is fool-proof. I use Ghirardelli 60% bittersweet chocolate chips, and in a lesser quantity than the recipe calls for, which gives a rich flavor. I toast coconut and set to the side so that those who like it can add it on top. This is a very memorable dessert and one which will surely get you lots of compliments! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This was very good, and easy too. I used a graham cracker crust to help save time, and added 1 tsp coconut flavoring to the white layer, after it had cooled. My family says it reminds them of an Almond Joy. I have made this many times and it always turns out well. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This looked quick to prepare and with the ingredients readily available on the property and in the house I decided to give it a go. The haupia was great with the addition of 1/2 teaspoon of real coconut extract and the toasted fresh shavings of coconut on top of the whipped cream added a nice texture and additional coconut flavor. I would recommend reducing semi sweet morsels to about a half cup as they tend to overpower the coconut flavor at 1 1/4 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HawaiiGuy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
really creamy and rich , i dint have a pie crust so i make it on parfait glasses , i added coconut flakes and coconut extract .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Rich and decadent, a lovely Hawaiian pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
OMG! Rich and decadent. My husband said it tasted like a very expensive gourmet chocolate cream pie. Only complaint was I couldn't taste coconut. Next time i will add coconut extract.Can't wait to make this for our Easter family dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by krizias
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I made this for a Hawaiian style dinner party (my husband is from Honolulu), and everyone loved it! Like some have commented, be careful to use exactly the amount of chocolate called for; I used 1/4 cup more than the recipe lists and the chocolate flavor was a bit overpowering for the delicate coconut flavor. Make sure your pie crust is baked well; otherwise, it will get soggy. I had to place coins on foil on top of the crust while baking so that it wouldn't rise. Lastly, be sure to cool it in the fridge for at least 3 hours; 1 just isn't enough for it to be chilled through and result in a super clean slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krizias

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States