Coconut Gumdrop Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
These cookies practically have all the food groups! Superb!!!! The only thing that would have made them better for me is if my Sister baked them. They would have erected a monument in her honor for worlds best baker if she had whipped these up! Absolutely delectable!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reg~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabeth City, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Forget the gumdrops! I made these twice; once with gumdrops and once without. My family did not care for the gumdrops at all but without the gumdrops the cookies are very good; cookies had a chewy/crunchy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Used small baking gums snipped in half, no pecans, added half cup dried currants. Dropped from tsp and didn't flatten with fork. Made perfect little cookies. Easy and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I just made a batch. So delicious. Can't wait for the kids to get home from school and try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LASTRONG
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
These are even better with a few tweaks...I prefer to use butter over shortening and then also add a tsp. of grated orange zest...also I roll them into a log, refrigerate overnight and then slice and bake the following day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LASTRONG

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I was a little worried at first because the cookie mixture seemed a little dry, but if you lightly bake them they come out moist and chewy. They do no spread in the pan much at all, which is nice. I followed the recipe exactly, but after the first batch came out of the oven (not as pretty as i would have liked) I decided to top each dough ball with two (cut up) peices of gumdrops. I pressed the candy gently into the cookie so it made a nice presentation but would not fall off after baking.Very pretty!!! Oh and the cookies taste amazing! If I make them again I will add some vanilla and maybe a T of milk to moisten them up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Really nice cookies. The butter/shortening confused me. I used shortening and 2 tbsp of water in my second batch and they came out better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCSHELLY

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
These were fun, and very good. I used jelly beans instead of gumdrops, but I'll try it with gumdrops instead. They were a tad crunchy when all was said and done, but I put them all in a plastic bag to freeze and after a day in the bag they are softer but still taste good. I so goofed and forgot the coconut, but I didn't realize it until just now when I went to review them and they came up as coconut gumdrop cookies. Oops! I'll try them again with gumdrops AND coconut next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I made these yummy cookies.The only exception I dusted them with powdered sugar. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
These cookies are delicious! I used dark brown sugar, lessened the baking powder and soda to 3/4 teaspoon each, left out the salt (my husband has to restrict his sodium), and added 1/2 teaspoon coconut flavoring. I used crystallized ginger instead of gumdrops, and cut it up into tiny pieces, using about 1/2 cup. The ginger really compliments the coconut and pecans. Excellent cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bath, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States