Coconut Frosting and Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Granted, I didn't fold in my Cool Whip, but this was soupy and fell off my cupcakes. Tastes great after adding about twice as much coconut (vain attempt to thicken it), and a little coconut extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I love this frosting. I make a pineapple cocconut cake with this frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elmont, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I find this to be a better filling than a frosting. Probably because of the Cool Whip but it's great for a double or triple layer cake. Also good for some whoopie pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Yum! I can't believe how delicious this was and so easy to make. This is a recipe I will be using in the future. I agree with the reviewer who said the key is to keep everything cold and fold in the whipped topping. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I add 1 tablespoon vanilla flavoring and use fresh frozen coconut. I also cut the layers to make two layers out of one allowing the icing to really soak in and moisten the cake. I also refrigerate for 3 days. Yeild very moist and I'm always asked to make this for holidays, birthdays and family gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CAT772
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I was a little dubious about this recipe because of some of the negative reviews, but it sounded like it would taste good (and there were the equally enthusiastic reviews) so I decided to risk it. It worked quite well for me, but I think it is VERY IMPORTANT that the whipped topping is folded in carefully, not mixed in vigorously. I mixed together the sugar, sour cream and coconut, whipped it a bit with a hand mixer and then let it chill for an hour so before folding in the Cool Whip. After I frosted the cake (and I had quite a bit left over after frosting a 9 inch layer cake), I refrigerated it and half expected the icing to be falling off the cake next time I checked, but it was perfectly intact and remained so the next day as well. And it tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAT772

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This recipe was out of this world! Treat it like making whipped cream - cold bowl, cold ingredients. The icing is absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2dachs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Norcross, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Ho-Ly-Mo-Ly this stuff is the best coconut icing ever! I read the complaints and don't get it. My mother in law made this cake for me and I was looking for a similar recipe when I came across this one . I made this according to these instructions but next time I think I will put two cups of Coconut instead of 1 1/2 to stiffen the icing a bit. A tip she gave me was to put the icing in the fridge and let it marinade for about 24 hours and it would make it a littler thicker to ice when ready. DE-Lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
This frosting was WONDERFUL! I'm not sure what all the complaints are about. I did change the recipe just a bit, I used: 8oz sourcream, 1c sugar, and 2 pkgs of frozen coconut, and the 8oz cool whip. It was absolutely delightful I and wanted to eat it straight from the bowl!!! Yum! Certainly wasn't a watery mess or a waste of ingredients. I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEYARNSIX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Byhalia, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I noticed in another recipe very similar to this one, that the sour cream, coconut, sugar mixture was CHILLED before folding in the Cool Whip. Maybe the room temp of the mixture is what's breaking down the Cool Whip and making it soupy. Just a thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States