Coconut Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I've made this recipe several times and everyone loves it. It's the perfect flan recipe. My son wants it for his birthday party instead of a cake. It's creamy and rich tasting, but not cloying. The next time I make it I may add some flaked coconut, but I'm not sure if I should change a perfect recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ac
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I always tough that was so difficult to make this recipe, but it's so easy and came out really good... We are just enjoining on family right now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dolce Vianey
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I made this recipe and i love it! So delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Very Dissapointed with the lack of coconut flavor, also an hour is way to long to cook a flan. I should have pulled them out around 40-45 min, they were over cooked. Will not make again :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CVD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Thanks for the recipe. In my experience, I added 1/2 cup of coconut flakes. I forgot to add the 1-1/2 cups of milk and was worried about stiffness but instead, it still took 1.5 hrs to bake/set--with the oven turned down to 300F. The coconut flakes rose to the top and started to brown so I covered it in the last .5 hr. When is the right time to add the flakes--does anyone know? Finally, I didn't have vanilla so I added 1/4 cup vanilla syrup but it still wasn't sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Really rich and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
oh. em. gee. The first two times I made this, I thought it was sooo good. But both those times I accidentally forgot to add the whole milk, and the resulting texture was delicious, but firmer and tasted eggier than as the recipe calls for. If made to the recipe's specifications, this is so fluffy and delicious it will MELT in your mouth! And none of that yucky eggy taste. I'm sitting here taking it all away from my guests to gobble it up in the privacy of my room because it is THAT good. I added a generous helping of vanilla [2 tspn?], a little coconut extract and a teeny bit of almond extract. In Canada, sweetened condensed milk isn't sold in 14oz cans [as far as I could see] so I had a little less, but I think not being overly sweet adds to the charm of this dessert, and it is still sweet and custardy. It is also important not to let your sugar burn/brown to much, as the flavor WILL show through. I gave up and put it in the pan still slightly lumpy this time around because I can't seem to avoid slightly burning it, and it turned out just fine. I've also made it with a sprinkling of cardamom and it turns out HEAVENLY, tastes like a chai flan or something. This recipe is enough to make two pans - WHICH YOU WILL NEED. One for you, one for everyone else :D Some notes: it will deflate slightly when cooled and lose some of its volume, so you can think about cooking in a deeper pan. Also, DO NOT FORGET THE WHOLE MILK. num num num. thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Disappointed in the lack of coconut flavor, even with added extract. But the overall recipe was easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This turned out perfect, even though I left out the regular milk (oops - was too excited!). I added two teaspoons of coconut extract. I think one would have been enough for my personal taste. This was good, but I still like "original" flan better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2sabes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I made this flan and I hoped that it would taste like coconut but sadly no coconut flavor. I added a tsp. of vanilla & almond extract and it added a nice almond flavor. I also used lowfat milk. Next time I will try the recipe with cream of coconut. I also only cooked it for 1hr. Another tip is to make the caramel in a non-stick pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States