Coconut Date Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
Whipped this up in minuets so simple and tastes amazing !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jollydavis
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
Delicious. After reading all the reviews, I doubled the recipe, skipping the oil because the reviews mentioned this. When the mix started getting crumbly in the blender, I added 1/4 cup of honey. Then it was too sticky, so I added about 1C oatmeal and 1/4C chia to help soak it up. Greasing, pan, hands, spatula, before trying to get the mix out of the blended is helpful. I pressed it into a brownie pan, sprinkled the top with chocolate chips and melted them in a 350 oven for 10 minutes. Spread the chocolate and chill. The layer of hardened chocolate helps hold everything together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
These bars are delicious. I made these today for my Paleo step daughter. I think that I'll eat this batch and make her some more. Recipe didn't specify about the coconut so I used one in the shell so as to avoid the processed sugar. The end result was worth the effort of dealing with the coconut husk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
I added dried cranberries, flax and chia, walnuts and sunflower kernels. Kind of threw together what I had. My husband needed them for a school survival trip. His classmates raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shayda
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Awesome, delicious and so easy to make. I just stuck everything in my nutribullet and voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shayda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I tried these on a whim when a friend gave me some dates. I only had 6 dates, but I followed the recipe otherwise. By the color of the bars in the picture, I think the bars would have held together much better if I had 10 or more dates. The bars did not hold together very well, but they did taste good. A very subtle sweetness, with the date flavor as an interesting after taste. I will try these again but maybe with some honey for extra hold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
My dates were dry so I heated them up with a bit of water in a pot on the stove before blending them in. Nutritious and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I LOVE these! I started eating Paleo a few months ago and this has been a staple in my house ever since. They are insanely easy to make (with a decent food processor) and absolutely delicious. I press mine into a small glass dish and they come out great. A little crumbly if I don't press them firm enough or let them refrigerate long enough but even crumbly they're to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I made 4 double patches today, different combos of extras, they are all great! You do need to pulse and/or run the food processor at least 2 or more minutes to get to the ball state. I used a combo of Medjool and Deglet Noor dates, since the medjools are more expensive but as another reviewer pointed out are more moist and sticky. I combined the coconut (half unsweetened), whole almonds, and dates in the processor then mixed in the extras by hand, literally. I too left out the oil, although did coat my hands with it to press the dough. I made Almond with Choc Chip with sliced almonds and mini chips, Cashew Cranberry and Chia, and Pecan Cherry. Having the chunks of the fruit and nuts mixes up the texture a bit. To form bars I lined a loaf tin with plastic wrap and then pressed in the dough, turned it out and then cut into pieces without refrigerating first. Put into plastic bags to make a quick grab and go snack. A double batch made 10 squares about 1/2 to 3/4 in thick. Will be making these for a long time to come!! Perfect gluten free snack! With more time I'd like to try some additional flavorings like spices or peels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States