Coconut Date Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
Whipped this up in minuets so simple and tastes amazing !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jollydavis
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
Delicious. After reading all the reviews, I doubled the recipe, skipping the oil because the reviews mentioned this. When the mix started getting crumbly in the blender, I added 1/4 cup of honey. Then it was too sticky, so I added about 1C oatmeal and 1/4C chia to help soak it up. Greasing, pan, hands, spatula, before trying to get the mix out of the blended is helpful. I pressed it into a brownie pan, sprinkled the top with chocolate chips and melted them in a 350 oven for 10 minutes. Spread the chocolate and chill. The layer of hardened chocolate helps hold everything together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
These bars are delicious. I made these today for my Paleo step daughter. I think that I'll eat this batch and make her some more. Recipe didn't specify about the coconut so I used one in the shell so as to avoid the processed sugar. The end result was worth the effort of dealing with the coconut husk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
I added dried cranberries, flax and chia, walnuts and sunflower kernels. Kind of threw together what I had. My husband needed them for a school survival trip. His classmates raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shayda
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Awesome, delicious and so easy to make. I just stuck everything in my nutribullet and voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shayda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I tried these on a whim when a friend gave me some dates. I only had 6 dates, but I followed the recipe otherwise. By the color of the bars in the picture, I think the bars would have held together much better if I had 10 or more dates. The bars did not hold together very well, but they did taste good. A very subtle sweetness, with the date flavor as an interesting after taste. I will try these again but maybe with some honey for extra hold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
My dates were dry so I heated them up with a bit of water in a pot on the stove before blending them in. Nutritious and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I LOVE these! I started eating Paleo a few months ago and this has been a staple in my house ever since. They are insanely easy to make (with a decent food processor) and absolutely delicious. I press mine into a small glass dish and they come out great. A little crumbly if I don't press them firm enough or let them refrigerate long enough but even crumbly they're to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I made 4 double patches today, different combos of extras, they are all great! You do need to pulse and/or run the food processor at least 2 or more minutes to get to the ball state. I used a combo of Medjool and Deglet Noor dates, since the medjools are more expensive but as another reviewer pointed out are more moist and sticky. I combined the coconut (half unsweetened), whole almonds, and dates in the processor then mixed in the extras by hand, literally. I too left out the oil, although did coat my hands with it to press the dough. I made Almond with Choc Chip with sliced almonds and mini chips, Cashew Cranberry and Chia, and Pecan Cherry. Having the chunks of the fruit and nuts mixes up the texture a bit. To form bars I lined a loaf tin with plastic wrap and then pressed in the dough, turned it out and then cut into pieces without refrigerating first. Put into plastic bags to make a quick grab and go snack. A double batch made 10 squares about 1/2 to 3/4 in thick. Will be making these for a long time to come!! Perfect gluten free snack! With more time I'd like to try some additional flavorings like spices or peels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States