Coconut Date Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
a really classy take on a rice crispie treat! Loved these. I found that I was not making any headway with the double boiler so just poured the mixture into a teflon coated pan and heated on low til it boiled, stirring constantly with a wire whisk. Nice and soft and found that you don't have to work quickly with these when attempting to roll, as the mixture stays nice and soft and pliable. Rolled in toasted coconut/chopped pecan mixture. I used mahjool dates and hand chopped into large bits. I found that the dates blended into the egg mixture and were not whole chopped in the cookie. That is a great thing for those that stick up their noses at dates. It more or less added a bit of a nutty taste to the mixture. Presents beautifully for the holiday trays, as well. thanks for this wonderful non-chocolate addition to a holiday tray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
My mom and I used to make these at Christmas time and they were a family favorit. She has passed and lost the recipe. This is the exact one and it tastes amazing....I challenege anyone who things they may not like dates to try this!!! I agree with the others though...Boil for only 3 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Absolutely addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bravo Alpha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
These are exactly like what my mom used to make when I was a child. We mixed it up and rolled some in powdered sugar and chocolate coated some as well. I crave these every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Cookworm

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Love these! I make these every holiday season to add to my cookie platters. A few times I have "saved" a batch that was over-boiled and became crumbly by stirring in a couple teaspoons of very hot water to reconstitute the mixture. As long as it has not burned that might make it easier to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
These are very good and easy to make also!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
My mother made this recipe for years and I have done the same for over 20 years. This is an excellent recipe! I agree with the comment regarding cooking it too long - I did this myself one year and had very hard, not chewy Date Balls. I realized my error immediately. Someone had suggested cooking to a "firm" stage - that makes sense to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
I cooked the mixture for about 3 minutes and they ended up nice and soft. Totally yummy, just as I remembered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
I never knew I liked dates until I ate these "cookies", they are awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CSAVOY
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
I've been making these for years and they are always a huge hit. DO NOT boil longer than 3 minutes or it will turn into a crumbly mess that won't roll together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CSAVOY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Amant, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States