Coconut Date Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CSAVOY
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
I've been making these for years and they are always a huge hit. DO NOT boil longer than 3 minutes or it will turn into a crumbly mess that won't roll together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CSAVOY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Amant, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
a really classy take on a rice crispie treat! Loved these. I found that I was not making any headway with the double boiler so just poured the mixture into a teflon coated pan and heated on low til it boiled, stirring constantly with a wire whisk. Nice and soft and found that you don't have to work quickly with these when attempting to roll, as the mixture stays nice and soft and pliable. Rolled in toasted coconut/chopped pecan mixture. I used mahjool dates and hand chopped into large bits. I found that the dates blended into the egg mixture and were not whole chopped in the cookie. That is a great thing for those that stick up their noses at dates. It more or less added a bit of a nutty taste to the mixture. Presents beautifully for the holiday trays, as well. thanks for this wonderful non-chocolate addition to a holiday tray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Love these! I make these every holiday season to add to my cookie platters. A few times I have "saved" a batch that was over-boiled and became crumbly by stirring in a couple teaspoons of very hot water to reconstitute the mixture. As long as it has not burned that might make it easier to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by kreativekuisine
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
These are a really nice holiday treat although you can enjoy it any time you choose. I've made this recipe for years, but the difference is that I use 1 cup sugar, 1 cup chopped dates, 1 egg, 1 stick of margarine, 1 tsp vanilla, 2 1/2 cups rice krispies, and 1/2 cup chopped pecans. As I form the balls I roll it in coconut. If the mixture is too hot, the balls will not form correctly and if it is too cool the coconut won't stick like it should. The mixture should be cool enough to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kreativekuisine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
These are exactly like what my mom used to make when I was a child. We mixed it up and rolled some in powdered sugar and chocolate coated some as well. I crave these every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Cookworm

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I've made SIX batches of these for various friends/family/functions so far this winter, and they've been a huge hit! They're a little sweet for my taste, but I tried making them with less sugar and they didn't hold together as well. I made one batch sans-coconut and just pressed them into a casserole dish like a batch of rice crispies, and my brothers liked them even better that way, which is nice because forming the little balls and rolling them in coconut is really the only time consuming part of this delicious treat. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Very, very sweet! Also very messy to roll into balls. If you cook the mixture on high heat, you'll scramble the eggs, so make sure you watch it and stir constantly. Very tasty treat, especially with toasted pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
My mom has been making a recipe similar to this for years at X-mas time. Only real difference is she adds ground pecans to the recipe when you add the rice krispies. The only thing I hate about making these is when you need to form the balls it's easy to burn your fingers--I would recommend using a cookie scoop if you have one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hbschry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I loved these as a child but I have hated making them as an adult because of the sticky mess when rolling them into balls. So last year, instead of rolling them, I pressed the mixture into a greased baking dish. I then sprinkled the top with coconut and pressed it lightly into the mixture. I let it cool and then cut into bars. Much easier and just as tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
My mother made this recipe for years and I have done the same for over 20 years. This is an excellent recipe! I agree with the comment regarding cooking it too long - I did this myself one year and had very hard, not chewy Date Balls. I realized my error immediately. Someone had suggested cooking to a "firm" stage - that makes sense to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States