Coconut Date Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
My mom has made these for years, They are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
These tasted good but they were extemely crunchy --- not at all what I expected. Extra crunch was not from the krispie cereal, either; I thought of that already :) I'll make these again but I will not boil as long, I think the mixture overcooked. Still enjoyed the flavor though. Melissa, Charlotte, NC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tryon, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
These are very good and easy to make also!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
My mother made this recipe for years and I have done the same for over 20 years. This is an excellent recipe! I agree with the comment regarding cooking it too long - I did this myself one year and had very hard, not chewy Date Balls. I realized my error immediately. Someone had suggested cooking to a "firm" stage - that makes sense to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
I cooked the mixture for about 3 minutes and they ended up nice and soft. Totally yummy, just as I remembered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
I never knew I liked dates until I ate these "cookies", they are awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
My mom and I used to make these at Christmas time and they were a family favorit. She has passed and lost the recipe. This is the exact one and it tastes amazing....I challenege anyone who things they may not like dates to try this!!! I agree with the others though...Boil for only 3 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Absolutely addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bravo Alpha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by CSAVOY
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
I've been making these for years and they are always a huge hit. DO NOT boil longer than 3 minutes or it will turn into a crumbly mess that won't roll together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CSAVOY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Amant, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
These are exactly like what my mom used to make when I was a child. We mixed it up and rolled some in powdered sugar and chocolate coated some as well. I crave these every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Cookworm

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States