Coconut Date Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I have always made date balls with marshmallows, brown sugar, and rolled them in powdered sugar. I found I didn't have any marshmallows and I had coco krispies instead of Rice Crispies. So I made this recipe just as it asked, put in 3 cups of the Coco Crispies, and rolled them in the coconut. Came out absolutely amazing! Family loved them! Will have to make these again. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gsugin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Please change "stir occasionally" to stir constantly once it reaches the boil stage...I ruined a good pan! I also found it helpful to rinse and butter my hands between forming the balls. Once completed, these are tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Noble Ethridge

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muscle Shoals, Alabama, USA
Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
My mom always made these for Christmas. My sister isn't a date fan so I also make a cherry version as well; I use drained maraschino cherries instead of dates, pressed the mixture into a buttered pan because it takes a lot less time (I'm lazy sometimes ; ) and put melted white chocolate on top with a little sprinkle of red colored sugar. They were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peshtigo, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I remember these from when I was little. My gramma would make them around the holidays. I had forgotten about them until I went through her recipe book. I was so excited to find this recipe; especially the reviews. I made a batch and they did not stick together after reading reviews I know I cooked the mixture too long. Thanks for sharing. Oh, we make them in a log form rolled in coconut and then slice once they have been refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
My husband was skeptical; he thought they'd be too sweet but he liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BatikWindmillTurban

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Made in to a bars per previous reviews. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
These came together quickly and easily and they are DELICIOUS! I made a few alterations: cut sugar down to 3/4 cup, added 1/4tsp salt, and stirred in 1/2cup walnuts in the place of 1/2 cup of the cereal. They turn out absolutely beautiful and are so good, I've eaten 10 myself already! Notes: I didn't time the stove-top, but I think the burner was on at medium heat for about 5 minutes, did NOT boil for the whole 5 minutes. Also, you don't need that much coconut, I didn't measure mine out, just threw some in a bowl for rolling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I loved these as a child but I have hated making them as an adult because of the sticky mess when rolling them into balls. So last year, instead of rolling them, I pressed the mixture into a greased baking dish. I then sprinkled the top with coconut and pressed it lightly into the mixture. I let it cool and then cut into bars. Much easier and just as tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Easy to make and not too sweet--a hit at my party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Just like my mom made when I was a kid! Make sure that your hands are really buttered up though, sticky!! Thanks for submitting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraV1976

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greybull, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States