Coconut Date Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I have been making this recipe at Christmas for my family for 30 years. It was given to me by my MIL who had been making it since my husband was a boy. Needless to say it's not Christmas in our house until these are done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Yummy I used kreativekuisine's adjustments.. Very Very Good and Gooey..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Love this recipe! My mom and I made these when I was a child. The only difference is that we always put about 1/2 c. of fresh chopped pecans. It helps to cut the sweetness a bit. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
My spouse requests these every Christmas. I reduce the rice cereal by half and roll in fine coconut. I also use 2 spoons to roll the balls. They taste best when refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
My mother used to make these at Christmas time. The only difference in the recipe is that I add 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I have always made date balls with marshmallows, brown sugar, and rolled them in powdered sugar. I found I didn't have any marshmallows and I had coco krispies instead of Rice Crispies. So I made this recipe just as it asked, put in 3 cups of the Coco Crispies, and rolled them in the coconut. Came out absolutely amazing! Family loved them! Will have to make these again. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gsugin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Please change "stir occasionally" to stir constantly once it reaches the boil stage...I ruined a good pan! I also found it helpful to rinse and butter my hands between forming the balls. Once completed, these are tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jethridge

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muscle Shoals, Alabama, USA
Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
My mom always made these for Christmas. My sister isn't a date fan so I also make a cherry version as well; I use drained maraschino cherries instead of dates, pressed the mixture into a buttered pan because it takes a lot less time (I'm lazy sometimes ; ) and put melted white chocolate on top with a little sprinkle of red colored sugar. They were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peshtigo, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I remember these from when I was little. My gramma would make them around the holidays. I had forgotten about them until I went through her recipe book. I was so excited to find this recipe; especially the reviews. I made a batch and they did not stick together after reading reviews I know I cooked the mixture too long. Thanks for sharing. Oh, we make them in a log form rolled in coconut and then slice once they have been refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States