Coconut Date Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
These are amazing-I now have a new favorite recipe! My daughter came home from school asking for date balls, and I looked them up and found this recipe, which is lacking the nuts that other recipes have. I read the reviews and decided to try it out, heeding the advice from comments to a. boil only 3 minutes, and b. using only 2 cups of rice crisps, based on comments that they are too crunchy. Result was PERFECT! Nice, gooey yet slightly crunchy texture. Butter on the fingers is a must for rolling. I will be making these for every holiday, birthday and anniversary celebration from now on. They were a huge hit! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I have been making this recipe at Christmas for my family for 30 years. It was given to me by my MIL who had been making it since my husband was a boy. Needless to say it's not Christmas in our house until these are done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Yummy I used kreativekuisine's adjustments.. Very Very Good and Gooey..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Love this recipe! My mom and I made these when I was a child. The only difference is that we always put about 1/2 c. of fresh chopped pecans. It helps to cut the sweetness a bit. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
My spouse requests these every Christmas. I reduce the rice cereal by half and roll in fine coconut. I also use 2 spoons to roll the balls. They taste best when refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
My mother used to make these at Christmas time. The only difference in the recipe is that I add 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Abbott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I have always made date balls with marshmallows, brown sugar, and rolled them in powdered sugar. I found I didn't have any marshmallows and I had coco krispies instead of Rice Crispies. So I made this recipe just as it asked, put in 3 cups of the Coco Crispies, and rolled them in the coconut. Came out absolutely amazing! Family loved them! Will have to make these again. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gsugin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Please change "stir occasionally" to stir constantly once it reaches the boil stage...I ruined a good pan! I also found it helpful to rinse and butter my hands between forming the balls. Once completed, these are tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Noble Ethridge

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muscle Shoals, Alabama, USA
Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
My mom always made these for Christmas. My sister isn't a date fan so I also make a cherry version as well; I use drained maraschino cherries instead of dates, pressed the mixture into a buttered pan because it takes a lot less time (I'm lazy sometimes ; ) and put melted white chocolate on top with a little sprinkle of red colored sugar. They were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peshtigo, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States